��� Women's Silver Anniversary team includes West Lafayette coach, area duo | West Lafayette Jr.-Sr. High School Girls' Basketball | iHigh.com
West Lafayette Jr.-Sr. High School
Home of the Red Devils









Home » Girls' Basketball News

Women's Silver Anniversary team includes West Lafayette coach, area duo

January 5, 2012
West Lafayette Jr.-Sr. High School

West Lafayette girls basketball coach Jane (Calhoun) Schott and former Seeger standout Alicia (Dobbels) Clevenger are members of the 2012 Women's Silver Anniversary team announced Tuesday by the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.

Also included on the 18-member team are former Crawfordsville standout Shannon (Hardesty) Cantu and former Purdue guard Teri Moren. Schott and Cantu were both 1987 Indiana All-Stars.

Schott averaged 15.3 points and 15.1 rebounds as a Tipton senior. She posted 13 points and nine rebounds in the Indiana All-Stars' 88-73 victory over Kentucky in 1987. Schott played 120 games at Purdue, starting all 30 as a senior, and was a three-time Academic All-Big Ten Selection.

As a four-year starter at Seeger, Clevenger finished with 1,005 points and 871 rebounds. She graduated with 16 school records, and was also a four-year swimming team MVP and four-time state qualifier. Clevenger also scored 1,000 points at St. Joseph's and is a member of the school's Sports Hall of Fame. She is principal at Edgelea Elementary.

Cantu became Crawfordsville's only girls Indiana All-Star after averaging 24.3 points and 11.5 rebounds as a senior. She played golf at Indiana and was the Big Ten Conference champion in 1990 before playing on the Futures Golf Tour from 1992-94.

Moren graduated as Seymour's scoring leader with 1,138 points and currently ranks fourth in points, fourth in assists and second in steals. A two-year starter at Purdue, she was a member of the Boilermakers' first Big Ten championship team in 1991 and their first NCAA tournament team in 1990. Moren is in her second season as head coach at Indiana State.

The Silver Anniversary team will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame's 11th Annual Women's Banquet on April 28 at the Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis.

Tags West Lafayette Jr.-Sr. High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article