��� Three Columbia State Chargers Named to The NJCAA World Series All-Tournament Team! | TennesseeSportsNet/WAXO Radio TV Baseball | iHigh.com



TSN Favorite Links!


Home » Baseball News

Three Columbia State Chargers Named to The NJCAA World Series All-Tournament Team!

May 31, 2014
By Greg Bradley of TennesseeSportsNet/WAXO Radio TV

Wes Neiderland was one of four out fielders selected.

Wes batted .263, 5/19, 2HR, 7RBI's

Desi Ammons one of two catchers.

Desi batted .235, 4/17, 2-doubles, 3 RBIs

Sam Few the ONLY DH named to the All-Tournament team.

Sam batted .438, 7/17, 1-HR, 4RBIs

And there were a couple of Chargers who got lost in the shuffle one was Josh Wilson. Not sure if anyone had a better tournament. Josh just batted. .643 as he led the team. Wilson was an amazing 9 of 14 at the plate with 2 homers and Paul Kirby batted .500 7 of 14 with 5 RBIs.

RAND JUNCTION, Colo. – Iowa Western Community College used 11 runs in the final three inning to win its third NJCAA national championship in the past five years over Miami Dade College (Fla.) 17-5 in the final game of the Alpine Bank Junior College World Series.

Iowa Western (56-11) has now won three national championships in the past five years (2010, 2012, 2014). Iowa beat CSCC 6-5 in the opening contest.

Team stats for the 4 games played:



Here's the complete list of All-Tournament selections for the 2014 NJCAA World Series.

All-Tournament Team
Darren Seferina, INF, Miami Dade
Louis Boyd, INF, Cochise
Jacob Sheldon-Collins, INF, Iowa Western
Blaine Prescott, INF, Midland
Jake Scudder, INF, Iowa Western
Nick Bateman, OF, Miami Dade
Alex Krupa, OF, Iowa Western
Wes Neiderland, OF, Columbia State
Wesley Rogers, OF, Spartanburg Methodist
Chris Shaw, C, Midland
Desi Ammonds, C, Columbia State
Kevin Elder, P, Iowa Western
Erik Swanson, P, Iowa Western
Kyle Carter, P, Miami Dade
Sam Few, DH, Columbia State

Homa Thomas Sportsmanship: Dave Coleman, Midland
Robert Purkey Outstanding Pitcher: Erik Swanson, Iowa Western
Jay Tolman Outstanding Defensive Player: Jacob Sheldon-Collins, Iowa Western
Marucci Elite Hitter: Alex Krupa, Iowa Western
Preston Walker MVP: Alex Krupa, Iowa Western

Tags TennesseeSportsNet/WAXO Radio TV • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article