��� Team, Individual Wrestling State Champions Decided This Weekend | Richmond High School Wrestling | iHigh.com









Home » Wrestling News

Team, Individual Wrestling State Champions Decided This Weekend

February 15, 2013
Richmond High School


Four state champions, including three from last year, along with 21 undefeated wrestlers lead the parade of wrestlers into the 75th Annual IHSAA Individual Wrestling State Finals this weekend at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

Two hundred twenty-four wrestlers in all, 16 in each of the 14 weight classes, will begin first round competition on Friday at 6 pm ET / 5 pm CT. First-round winners will return to wrestle on Saturday with quarterfinal action beginning at 9:30 am ET / 8:30 am CT and semifinal matches to follow after all weight classes have concluded. Consolation bouts begin at 5 pm ET and championship matches under the spotlight are scheduled for 7:30 pm ET.

For the first time since 1995, the overall team state champion will be decided on points scored at this tournament where Perry Meridian enters as the two-time defending state champion under the previous team tournament.

Stevan Micic of Hanover Central, Isaiah Bradley of Muncie Southside and Mitch Sliga of Fishers each return after winning their first state title last year. Neal Molloy of Danville also returns two years removed from his 2011 championship.

Micic won the 106 title last season and is undefeated at 44-0 at 113 this year. Bradley is back seeking a repeat as the 152 pound champ with a 33-0 record. Sliga, unbeaten at 45-0, will attempt to win consecutive crowns at 195. And Molloy, who won the 130 pound crown in 2011, has moved up to 145 (39-0), after finishing fifth at 132 last year.

Seven others who have wrestled under the spotlight during the last two years but looking to take that final step include Yorktown’s Schuyler Phillips (45-2) at 120, Crown Point’s Josh Fuqua (30-1) at 126, Cody LeCount (36-0) of Perry Meridian at 132, Indianapolis Cathedral’s Vinny Corsaro (43-3) at 152, Greenfield-Central’s Josh Farrell (44-0) at 152, Franklin Community’s Luke Kriech (40-3) at 160, and Perry Meridian’s Jake Masengale (37-2) at 182.

Team scoring will follow Rule 9-2 of the 2012-13 NFHS Wrestling Rule Book and begin with Saturday morning’s quarterfinal round.

Points will be scored in the following manner for each match: Fall, Default, Forfeit, Disqualification: 2 points; Technical Fall: 1.5 points; Major Decision: 1 point.

In addition, two (2) points will be awarded per match for a championship bracket victory while one (1) point is earned for advancement in the consolation bracket.

Finally, points will be awarded to the top eight place-winners: 1st place: 16 points; 2nd place: 12 points; 3rd place: 9 points; 4th place: 7 points; 5th place: 5 points; 6th place: 3 points; 7th place: 2 points; 8th place: 1 point.

Fans are welcome to follow the progress of the meet via TrackWrestling.com throughout both days. Saturday night’s championship matches will each be streamed live at IHSAAtv.org beginning at 7:30 pm ET.

One hundred eleven (111) schools will be represented at this weekend’s state finals with Perry Meridian and Bloomington South leading the way with eight participants each. Merrillville and Yorktown follow with seven each. Yorktown led the state with five semi-state champions last weekend.

The 75th Annual IHSAA Individual Wrestling State Finals
Site: Bankers Life Fieldhouse, 125 S. Pennsylvania St., Indianapolis.
Admission: $8 per session or $20 both days.
Match-by-Match Results: TrackWrestling.com
Webcast: Saturday night’s state championship matches will be streamed live at IHSAAtv.org beginning at 7:30 pm ET / 6:30 pm CT. Mark Jaynes, former Evansville Mater Dei coach Mike Goebel and Jeremiah Johnson will host the program.

State Finals Brackets

Friday, Feb. 15, 2013
First Round | 6 pm ET.

Saturday, Feb. 16, 2013
Quarterfinals | 9:30 am ET with semifinals to follow.
Consolations | 5 pm ET.
Finals | 7:30 pm ET.

State Champions in the Field (4)
113: Stevan Micic, 11, Hanover Central (44-0) | 2012 champ at 106.
145: Neal Molloy, 12, Danville (39-0) | 2011 champ at 130.
152: Isaiah Bradley, 12, Muncie Southside (33-0) | 2012 champ at 152.
195: Mitch Sliga, 12, Fishers (45-0) | 2012 champ at 195.

State Runners-Up in the Field (7)
120: Schuyler Phillips, 12, Yorktown (45-2) | 2012 runner-up at 113.
126: Josh Fuqua, 11, Crown Point (30-1) | 2011 runner-up at 103.
132: Cody LeCount, 11, Perry Meridian (36-0) | 2012 runner-up at 126.
152: Vinny Corsaro, 11, Indianapolis Cathedral (43-3) | 2012 runner-up at 145.
152: Josh Farrell, 12, Greenfield-Central (44-0) | 2012 runner-up at 138.
160: Luke Kriech, 12, Franklin Community (40-3) | 2012 runner-up at 152.
182: Jake Masengale, 12, Perry Meridian (37-2) | 2012 runner-up at 170.

Undefeated Wrestlers in the Field: 21 (Three at 106).

Tags Richmond High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)