��� ABU DHABI HSBC GOLF CHAMPIONSHIP | Richmond High School Golf | iHigh.com

CONTENTS

SPORTS

RADIO TROY

OTHER

STATE CHAMPIONS

RECORDS & AWARDS

MEDIA

Home » Golf News

ABU DHABI HSBC GOLF CHAMPIONSHIP

January 19, 2013
Richmond High School



Tiger Woods


ABU DHABI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

Q.  Can you tell us what happened?
TIGER WOODS: I thought my ball was embedded, so I called Martin over.  He agreed.  But Andy (McFee) ruled that I had broken an infraction there and consequently got a two?shot penalty and I had two shots.

Q.  You didn't get a chance to look at the incident; you're just taking Andy's word that the incident was correct?
TIGER WOODS:  Andy feels the way he feels about it, then I broke the rules.

Q.  Is it a different ruling on the PGA TOUR or is it the same?
TIGER WOODS:  I don't know, I'll be honest with you, I don't know.  Andy said that the ball wasn't embedded because it was sandy?based.  As I said, I called Martin over to verify it, and we both agreed it was.  We thought it was embedded.  But evidently it wasn't.
(NB: The ball actually was embedded but the crucial point is that it was embedded in sand from where there is no relief – Rule 25/2).
 
Q.  Do you know if somebody rang in to identify it as an issue?
TIGER WOODS:  I don't know.

Q.  How disappointing, battled away so bravely to make the cut, how disappointing to miss the cut in this fashion?
TIGER WOODS:  It's tough because I didn't get off to a very good start today and I fought and got it back.  I was right there and I felt that if I had close to even par, I had a chance going into the weekend, being only eight back.  Evidently, it wasn't enough.

Q.  What a disappointing way to end the first couple of days.  Can you tell us exactly what happened at the 5th?
TIGER WOODS:  Yeah, I thought my ball was embedded, so I called Martin over.  He agreed.  He thought it was embedded.  Evidently it's sandy?based and doesn't call for an embedded ball there.  So Andy gave me a penalty here, and I missed the cut.

Q.  Are you annoyed at yourself for that?
TIGER WOODS:  No, that's why I called Martin over, is to make sure that?? we thought it was embedded.  So I had a player come over and verify it, and evidently I broke a rule.  Consequently, I get two shots.

Q.  What most concerns you about the way you played over the first two days?
TIGER WOODS:  I didn't hit it particularly well.  I putted great but just didn't hit it very good.  I was struggling with that.  I fought hard.  I fought hard today.  Got off to a bad start and I battled back and got it to where I thought I could play the weekend, and thought I might have a chance, just post two low rounds.  But I won't be able to do that.

Q.  In terms of the way you're expected to play when you teed off here??
TIGER WOODS:  Obviously you want to be in the lead, so I'm not in the lead.  I have some work to do, and next week I'm playing at Torrey, and obviously it will be different weather there this year, so going to go back and get ready.


Tags Richmond High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
Facebook
Google
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)

Announcements


Partner