��� Big Ten Announces 2012 All-Big Ten Teams and Select Individual Award Winners | Richmond High School Football | iHigh.com









Home » Football News

Big Ten Announces 2012 All-Big Ten Teams and Select Individual Award Winners

November 27, 2012
Richmond High School

Park Ridge, Ill. - The Big Ten on Monday announced the 2012 All-Big Ten teams as
well as 10 postseason individual award winners, as voted by the conference's coaches
and a select media panel. This season marks the second year of the Big Ten's
postseason awards process that honors teams, coaches and student-athletes. The Big
Ten's biggest individual honors each bear the names of one or two former standouts.
The Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian and Ford-Kinnick Leadership awards were announced
last week, 10 individual trophies were announced Monday, and the remaining five
trophy winners will be unveiled on Tuesday.

Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin each claim two individual trophies,
while one standout each from Iowa, Nebraska and Northwestern earned an award.

Michigan's Taylor Lewan was named the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year,
while the Wolverines' Will Hagerup was tabbed the Eddleman-Fields Punter of the
Year. Ohio State's Braxton Miller earns the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year
honor, while teammate John Simon was named the Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the
Year. Penn State's Allen Robinson claims the Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year
trophy, while teammate Michael Mauti earns the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the
Year award. Wisconsin's Montee Ball was named the Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the
Year for the second consecutive season, while the Badgers' Jacob Pedersen earns the
Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year honor. Rounding out the defensive honors, Iowa's
Micah Hyde was named the Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year. Nebraska's Brett
Maher and Northwestern's Jeff Budzien shared the Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year
award, the second consecutive honor for Maher.

Hyde, Lewan, Simon, Mauti, Robinson and Ball were each named first-team selections
to the coaches' and media's All-Big Ten teams. Ball is a first-team selection on
both lists for the second straight season, while Simon, Michigan State's Johnny
Adams and Wisconsin's Chris Borland are repeat picks on the coaches' first team.
Maher, Purdue's Kawann Short and Wisconsin's Mike Taylor all appear on the media's
first team for the second year in a row.

The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes
chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and
ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and
have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Tags Richmond High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)