��� LIONS SET NEW SCORING RECORD | Prattville High School Football | iHigh.com





Lions Band


Home » Football News


September 20, 2011
By Jimmy White of Prattville High School


When Lawon DeBardelaben took Wetumpka’s Jason Colquitt’s kickoff at his 27yard line late in the fourth quarter and scooted down the left sidelines of Hohenberg Field Friday Night in Wetumpka en route to a 73-yard TD run little did he know that his name would be written in the pages of history.

With the touchdown run DeBardelaben’s score established a new all-time scoring record for Prattville High School.  His kickoff return for a touchdown gave the Lions 70 points and with Kegan Gaither’s extra point made it 71.

The previous top scoring feat was established on September 5, 1997 when coach Tommy Lucas’ Lions plastered the Selma Saints, 67-0.

Here is a look at the top seven previous games with Prattville’s highest scoring performances –

 September 5, 1997 – Prattville 67 Selma 0 – at Stanley-Jensen Stadium

Prattville offense rushed for 278 yards, while the special teams recorded four blocked punts and a safety as well as a touchdown en route to the opening of the 1997 season.

Jeremy Walker scored two touchdowns, Kevin Bozeman scored two touchdowns, Bryan Epkins scored two touchdowns, Paul Wells scored once with a 69-yard kickoff return , and current Prattville High defensive coordinator J.B. Wallace added a 9-yard TD run.

November 23, 1922 – Autauga County High 65 Lowndes County High School (Fort Deposit) 0 in Prattville.  The football field then ran east and west along Doster Street at the rear of the old high school (the old school burned Tuesday morning, August 14, 1951))

Autauga County high did not have a football coach.  The previous coach Robert F. Youngblood left town in the summer after a poor showing in 1921 when he was expected to win big time and the team did not perform to expectations.

A student Clifford Murray Wingard acted as coach after talking Principal Alma McGaugh into allowing a football team.

The team went 8-1 (only loss to Fifth District Agricultural School now Wetumpka High).  The team challenged Sidney Lanier to a game, since Lanier went undefeated and was ranked number one in polls.

Lanier would not play in 1922, but gave the team a game at Cramton Bowl in 1923.  Lanier won 33-0.  The team was nicknamed Crimson Wave.  This was the first year of the Alabama High School Athletic Association.  Autauga County High School joined the association as a charter member.

Wingard, Walter Barnes Tatum, Glenn Robertson, Allison Buckner and Henry Wadsworth all scored touchdowns in the one sided victory.  Following the game the cheerleaders served a bar-be-que meal complete with the trimmings to the visiting Lowndes County team as they waited for the L & N train to take the team back to Fort Deposit.

There was no bridge over the Alabama River.  The depot was located on Factory Street (now Court Street).

October 14, 1938 – Autauga County High School 62 Billingsley 0 – in Prattville at old field located on Doster Street

This was the first undefeated team for Autauga County High –

Buddy Jones scored 23 points (he went to Alabama Polytechnic Institute on football scholarship, had to leave after one season as Prattville National Guard called to duty in WWII), Ernest Trice scored three TDs (he lost life in WWII), Marshall Wright scored TD, and QB Sonny Gillespie scored a touchdown

In final game of season, Marbury tied the Lions 0-0 playing in Marbury before estimated 1,000 folks.  The team had an 8-0-1 record. This was first season the team had nickname of Lions after six years being called Panthers.

November 1, 2007 – Prattville 59 Woodlawn 0 –

Before 5,500 fans at Stanley-Jensen Stadium Prattville High defeated the Woodlawn Colonels, 59-0.  Casey Weldon threw for two touchdowns and rushed for one.  Justin Albert scored one rushing touchdown, Matt Owens, Cade Lawrence and Brandon King each scored once.

Prattville finished season 15-0 and won state class 6A championship by defeatin Spain Park 14-0.

Bill Clark was in his ninth year as head coach

September 6, 1991

Prattville defeated the Bulloch County Hornets (Union Springs), 59-0, before 4, 300 fans at Stanley-Jensen Stadium.  Coach Bobby Wasden’s team held the visiting Hornets to negative yards in offense.

Daniel Brady, Cleo Jackson, both scored two touchdowns. Spanky Beavers blocked a punt setting up a touchdown; Jonas Fikes scored a touchdown in the big win.

Prattville ended season with a 9-4 record falling to Lee in the quarterfinals of class 6A.

October 8, 1948 – Prattville 58 Billingsley 0 at Lions Field, behind old high school.

Harry Bush, Dewey Russell, Sonny Seamon, Karl Rawlinson Hugh McKinnis, Click Deason (scored two touchdowns) Walter Golson, and James Oates scored touchdowns.  Thomas Culver kicked four extra points.  Fred Jensen was the head coach.

Prattville won seven games and lost 3.  The team won their final two games.  In 1949 and 1950 the team went undefeated and untied winning 22 straight games.

October 22, 1948 – Prattville 56 Jemison 0

Coach Fred Jensen‘s team swamped the visiting Jemison Panthers at Lions Field (behind old high school)

Walter Golson ran kickoff back 76 yards to set stage for Autauga County High to defeat Jemison 56-0.

Sonny Seamon, Harry Bush, Dewey Russell,  and L.D. Ross all added six pointers.









Tags Prattville High School • Publisher
• Tagged
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article