��� Northfield Spring Award Winners: Softball & Baseball | Northfield High School Athletics | iHigh.com




Athletics Facebook





Home » Athletics News

Northfield Spring Award Winners: Softball & Baseball

July 5, 2012
By Tony Uggen of Northfield High School

Northfield Spring Athletic Awards:  Softball and Baseball

Varsity Softball

Earning varsity chevrons were Bethany Azbell, Hannah Bright, Emily King, Kayla Unger, Jessika Beeks, Callie Monce, Amber Parker, Emily Shafer, Katelyn Shafer, Makinzie Hoagland, Caitlin Eltzroth, Katelyn Gribben and Arie Kennedy.  Earning their award jacket letter were Emily King, Kayla Unger, Makinzie Hoagland and Katelyn Gribben.  Earning her numerals was Kayla Unger.

Earning JV certificates were Alyssa Lambert, Baylee Shoemaker, Hayley Brantley, Holly Dyson, Katelyn Kirtlan and Madison Miller.

Earning TRC All-Academic honors was Emily Shafer.  Bethany Azbell, Emily King, Callie Monce nad Katelyn Shafer were honorable mention.  Earning her senior plaque was Hannah Bright (7 letters) who also earned a captain’s star along with Bethany Azbell, Emily King and Kayla Unger. 

Individual awards were won by Katelyn Shafer (Most Valuable Player), Emily Shafer (Mental Attitude Award), Jessika Beeks (Most Improved Player) and Caitlin Eltzroth  (Hustle Award). 

Earning Tri-Athlete Awards for playing three sports were Hannah Bright, Jessica Beeks, Katelyn Gribben and Arie Kennedy.

The team was coached by Mike Holley and finished the season 13-13.  He was assisted by Scott Burcroff, Brian Thompson and Doug Kuepper.

Varsity Baseball

Earning chevrons were Tanner Chamberlain, Austin Keen, Ethan Stouffer, RJ Waldon, Hunter Wells, Collin Dawes, Dallas Hovey, Ryan Keaffaber, Jared Kirtlan, Andy Maggart, Andy Roser, Joseph Ross, Bryce Kendall, Adam Roser and Tanner Wilcox.  Earning their award jacket letters were Andy Maggart, Bryce Kendall, Adam Roser and Tanner Wilcox.  Earning a manager’s chevron was Courtney Palmer.  Cortney Pennington received a certificate of appreciation.

Receiving JV certificates were Austin Curless, Spencer Miller, Cody Smalley, Andrew Waldon, Brad Bever, Christian Hawkins, Connor Keaffaber, Brandon Frank, Nate Hembree, Joseph Mitchell, Josh Smalley and Shane Vigar.  Earning numerals were Brandon Frank and Nate Hembree.

Earning 1st Team All-TRC honors were Ryan Keaffaber (pitcher), Adam Roser  (infielder), Andy Roser (catcher) and Hunter Wells (outfielder).  Earning 2nd Team honors were Joseph Ross (infielder) and Tanner Chamberlain (outfielder). 

Earning TRC All-Academic honors were Andy Roser and Hunter Wells.  Collin Dawes, Austin Keen, Ryan Keaffaber and Jared Kirtlan were honorable mention. 

Senior Plaque Awards for 6+ letters in their careers were handed out to Tanner Chamberlain (10 letters), Hunter Wells (8 letters) and RJ Waldon (7 letters).  Earning individual awards were Ryan Keaffaber and Andy Roser (Most Valuable Players), Collin Dawes (Most Improved Player) and Hunter Wells (Mental Attitude Award). 

Hunter Wells also won the IHSAA L.V. Phillips Baseball Award at the state finals for mental attitude and scholarship.  As a result, Northfield received a $1000 scholarship in his name.

Earning their Tri-Athlete Awards for participating in three sports were Tanner Chamberlain, Ethan Stouffer, RJ Waldon, Hunter Wells, Jared Kirtlan, Courtney Palmer, Joseph Ross, Joseph Mitchell, Josh Smalley, Shane Vigar and Cortney Pennington.

Andy Roser (catcher) and Ryan Keaffaber (pitcher) were recognized for making 2A All-State.

Several school records were broken.  Andy Roser set the single season record for at bats (115), hits (54), singles (39) and fewest strikeouts in a season (2 in 147 total at bats).  Ryan Keaffaber set the single season record for at bats (115), doubles (12), runs batted in (45), pitching wins (16) and best record (16-0).  He also has the career record for pitching wins with 35 and has one year to add to it.  Tanner Chamberlain set the single season record for sacrifices (20).  He also set the career record for sacrifices (25).   The team set the overall win record (29).

The Norse finished the season 29-5-1 and won the TRC, Blackford Invitational, Wabash Sectional, Wabash Regional, South Bend Semi State and 2A State Championship.  It was the baseball team’s 2nd baseball state title as they also won it in 2001.  They were coached by Tony Uggen with assistance from Troy Miller, Randy Keaffaber, Josh Merrick, Peyton Ross and Kevin Swan.

Tags Northfield High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article