��� Eden Prairie's Rau wins Mr. Hockey award | Minnesota Score Boys' Hockey | iHigh.com


Suscribe to MN Score Magazine

MN Score Radio








Home » Boys' Hockey News

Eden Prairie's Rau wins Mr. Hockey award

March 13, 2011
By Wally Langfellow of Minnesota Score

    SAINT PAUL/MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. – The Minnesota Minute Men announced today that forward Kyle Rau from Eden Prairie High School is the recipient of the 27th Annual Mr. Hockey Award, given to the outstanding senior boy’s high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota. Alex Lyon from Lake of the Woods High School received The Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of Minnesota’s top senior goaltender. Mark DeCenzo (Hibbing High School), Bruce Plante (Hermantown High School) and Tim Sager (White Bear Lake High School) received The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year. Jeff Whisler (Hill-Murray/Mahtomedi) received The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year.
    The Mr. Hockey Award, given each year to the outstanding senior hockey player in the state of Minnesota, is selected by a panel of judges, including National Hockey League scouts, Division I coaches and selected media members from around the state. Other finalists for this year’s award were: Josh Archibald (Brainerd High School), Ben Bahe (Hill-Murray), Jon Brodzinski (Blaine High School), Tony Cameranesi (Wayzata High School), Patrick Daly (Benilde-St. Margaret’s), Max Everson (Edina High School), Steven Fogarty (Edina High School), Garrett Hendrickson (Virginia High School) and Joseph LaBate (Academy of Holy Angels).
    Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004) Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985).
    Andrew Ford (Eden Prairie High School) was the other finalist for The Frank Brimsek Award this year. Previous Frank Brimsek Award winners are: Zane Gothberg (2010), Casey O’Connor (2009), Joe Phillippi (2008), Reid Ellingson (2007), Austin Lee (2006), Alec Richards (2005), Matt Lundin (2004), Jon Anderson (2003), Josh Johnson (2002), Eric Aarnio (2001), Jake Brant (2000), Adam Laaksonen (1999), Adam Coole (1998), Kyle Kolquist (1997), Karl Goehring (1996) and Todd Kelzenberg (1995).

Tags Minnesota Score • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)