Home » Football News

Simone Awards

January 17, 2014
By Eric Thomas of Lee's Summit Football

Talented group headlines Simone Awards

By PrepsKC staff
Posted: December 4, 2013 - 8:10 AM

The 31st Annual Thomas A. Simone Awards will be held Tuesday, December 10, 2013, at 9:30 AM at a site to be announced. Finalists for the five main player awards were announced on a special Time Warner Cable Sports Channel broadcast live from Arrowhead Stadium’s Hall of Honor last night.
The finalists for the 31st Annual Thomas A. Simone Memorial Award, which is given annually to the most outstanding football player in the Kansas City metropolitan area, are:
Brock Broughton, Sr. RB, Kearney – School record 2,065 rushing yards and 34 touchdowns. Western Illinois commit.
Drew Lock, Jr. QB, Lee’s Summit – 3,062 passing yards and 35 touchdowns. Multiple major football and basketball offers.
Dalvin Warmack, Sr. RB, Blue Springs – Could be the first two-time winner of the Simone Award. Over 2,500 total yards and 33 TDs this year. Kansas State commit.
Traevohn Wrench, Sr. RB, Gardner-Edgerton – Broke Bubba Starling’s career school rushing record with 2,091 yards and 30 TDs this year. Kansas commit.
The 22nd Annual Buck Buchanan Memorial Award will be given to the best lineman/linebacker in Missouri’s and Kansas’ top two classes (MO 5-6, KS 5A-6A). The finalists are:
Elijah Lee, Sr. DE, Blue Springs
Braden Smith, Sr. OL/DL, Olathe South
Jimmie Swain, Sr. LB, Olathe North
Josh Watson, Sr. LB, Blue Springs South
The 15th Annual Frank Fontana Award will be given to the most outstanding small class (MO 1-4, KS 1A-4A) football player in the metro. The finalists are:
Chad Berg, Sr. QB, Baldwin
Aaron Graham, Jr. RB, Oak Grove
Josh Shewmaker, Sr. QB, Pleasant Hill
Austin Tevis, Jr. RB, Holden
The 14th Annual Bobby Bell Award will be given to the best lineman/linebacker in Missouri’s and Kansas’ smallest four classes (MO 1-4, KS 1A-4A). The finalists are:
Colton Beebe, Jr. LB, Piper
Ryan Franks, Sr. LB, Hogan Prep
Ethan Fugitt, Sr. LB, Oak Grove
Casey McDermott, Sr. DE, Raytown South
The 7th Annual Otis Taylor Award will be given to the top tight end/wide receiver in the metro area. The finalists are:
Khalil Bailey, Sr. WR, Lansing
Monte Harrison, Sr. WR, Lee’s Summit West
Andre Maloney, Sr. WR, Shawnee Mission West
Darrius Shepherd, Sr. WR, Blue Springs
The Simone Awards are voted on by the member head coaches of the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association (GKCFCA) and a 12-member media committee.
In addition to the above award finalists, the following awards were presented on tonight’s show.
Kelly Donohoe of Blue Springs and Dustin Delaney of Shawnee Mission East were recognized as the Time Warner Cable Sports Channel Missouri and Kansas Coaches of the Year. Tony Wrisinger of Vision Sports in Blue Springs received the Gordon Docking Award for excellence in high school sports reporting. Kevin Coulter of East and Jabari Hobson of Lincoln Prep were given the Interscholastic League Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year Awards.
All of these individuals will also be recognized, as well as winners of the Simone, Fontana, Buchanan, Bell, Taylor and Nathan Stiles Inspiration Award announced, at the 31st Annual Simone Awards ceremony Tuesday, December 10 at 9:30 AM.

Details 111 Views
Tags Lee's Summit Football • Publisher
LSHS Athletics • Tagged
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article