��� Moeller Wrestling Update | Cincinnati Moeller High School Wrestling | iHigh.com

CONTENTS

SCHOOL SITE

SPORTS CAMPS

SEASON TICKETS

FALL SPORTS

WINTER SPORTS

SPRING SPORTS

ATHLETICS

FORMS

SPORTS MEDIA GUIDES

STATE CHAMPS STORE

CLASS OF 2018

ALUMNI INFO

PHOTOS

TEAM HISTORY

SPORTS MEDICINE

Home » Wrestling News

Moeller Wrestling Update

January 13, 2014
Cincinnati Moeller High School



MOELLER WRESTLING UPDATE  1-13-14

AUSTIN BOHENEK GETS APPOINTMENT TO THE AIR FORCE ACADEMY

Prior to the Varsity’s match with Glen Este this past Saturday, senior Austin Bohenek was presented with an appointment to the United States Air Force Academy by U.S. Representative Brad Wenstrup.  Congratulations Austin!

VARSITY WRESTLERS DEFEAT ELDER 37-16

The Varsity wrestling team had a solid showing knocking off GCL rival Elder 37-16 this past Friday at Elder.  Leading the Crusaders with pins were Jaelen Summerous (113), Dakota Sizemore (195) and Jerry Thornberry (220).  Solid wins by Conner Ziegler (120), Connor Borton (132), Johnathan Tallarigo (152), Austin Bohenek (160), Quinton Rosser (182), and Chalmer Frueauf (285). 

Individual Results:  Moeller 37, Elder 16

The Junior Varsity defeated Elder 37-24.  Getting wins for Moeller were Dan MacVeigh, Jack Newbanks, Brady Porter, Kaevon Salehpour, Jack Meyer, Joe Hensley, Tiese Gideon, and Richie Casillo.

The JV Team will compete at the Purcell Tournament this Friday and Saturday. 

SENIORS LEAD VARSITY OVER GLEN ESTE 48-15 AT SENIOR DAY MATCH

The senior wrestlers were recognized this past Saturday at the last scheduled home meet against Glen Este.   This year’s senior wrestlers:  Austin Bohenek (160), Brandon Cottrell, Steve Fischer, Chalmer Frueauf (220), Dean Meyer (170/182), Campbell Morton (145), Joe Pappalardo (126), Quinton Rosser (170/182), Dakota Sizemore (182/195), William Smallwood (195), Max Swoboda (285), Johnathan Tallarigo (152), Jerry Thornberry (195/220), Shane Wever (138), and Ian Williams (170).

The senior dominated lineup defeated Glen Este 48-15.  Getting pins for Moeller were Conner Ziegler, Johnathan Tallarigo, Dakota Sizemore, Jerry Thornberry, and Chalmer Frueauf.  Other wins from Connor Borton, Campbell Morton, Austin Bohenek, Ian Williams, and Quinton Rosser.

Individual Results:  Moeller 48, Glen Este 15

The Varsity team will travel to Cleveland for the Ohio All-Catholic Tournament on Saturday and Sunday.

VARSITY B RESULTS FROM THE VALLEY VIEW TOURNAMENT

The Varsity B team traveled to Valley View (outside of Dayton) to compete in the Valley View Invitational Tournament and finished 5th out of 14 teams.  Winning individual championships were freshman Brett Bryant (182) and sophomore Jack Meyer (220).  Sophomores Brady Porter (160) and Joe Hensley (285) placed 2nd

Valley View Results

The Varsity B team will compete in the Wyoming Duals this Saturday.  

OHIO STATE VS. NORTHWESTERN AT MOELLER ON FRIDAY NIGHT

Ohio State will wrestle Northwestern on Friday night in Moeller’s gym.   The match begins at 7pm.  Pierce Harger ’10, 2x NCAA qualifier, will wrestle at 165 for Northwestern.  All Moeller wrestlers have 1 ticket to the event.  Parents interested in attending can purchase tickets from the Moeller athletic department beginning on Monday for $10.  There are a limited number of tickets left (~200), so you should purchase tickets early if interested in going.  Wrestler tickets will be distributed on Friday. 

Parent help needed to help run concessions from 6pm-7:30pm.  If you can help please send a note to Coach Gaier.

COMPETITION INFORMATION FOR THE TEAMS THIS WEEK

VarsityOhio All-Catholic

-          Dates:  Saturday, Jan. 18 - Sunday, Jan. 19

-          Location:  Wolstein Center – Cleveland State University

-          Times:  Friday – leave Moeller after the OSU-Northwestern match; Saturday – 9am; Sunday – 9am; Finals at 3:30pm.

-          Transportation:  School Vans

-          Tournament schedule and information:  CIT Schedule

-          Questions:  Coach Jeff Gaier (jgaier@moeller.org or 513-604-2896)

Freshman / JV teamPurcell Tournament

-          Dates:  Friday, Jan. 17; Saturday, Jan. 18

-          Location:  Purcell Marian High School

-          Times: 

o   Friday: leave Moeller at 3pm; Weigh-ins at 4pm; Wrestling begins at 6pm

o   Saturday: leave Moeller at 7:30am; Weigh-ins at 8am; Wrestling at 10am; Finals ~4pm.

-          Transportation:  bus (NOTE:  wrestlers should get picked up at Purcell both days)

-          Questions:  Coach Matt Holtman (holtmanmr@gmail.com or 513-226-1636)

Varsity B  Team:   Wyoming Duals

-          Date:  Saturday, Jan. 18

-          Location:  Wyoming High School

-          Times:  Leave at 7:30am; Weigh-in at 8am; wrestling begins at 9:30am; estimated finish time at 4pm

-          Transportation:  bus (drop only) – wrestlers should get picked up at Wyoming HS

-          Questions:  Coach Dan Hill (dhill@moeller.org or 513-535-3739)

UPCOMING SCHEDULE

Monday, Jan. 13 – normal practice after school

Tuesday, Jan. 14 – normal practice after school

Wednesday, Jan. 15 – normal practice after school

Thursday, Jan. 16 – normal practice after school

Friday, Jan. 17 –

-          Frosh/JV at Purcell Tournament; bus leaves at 3pm; parents pick up wrestlers at Purcell (~8pm)

-           Varsity / Varsity B – prayer service followed by normal practice

-          OSU / Northwestern in the gym (7pm-9pm) *Moeller wrestlers admission paid for by team

-          Varsity leave for Cleveland after the OSU/Northwestern match

Saturday, Jan. 18 –

-          Frosh/JV at Purcell Tournament

-          Varsity B at Wyoming Duals; meet at Moeller at 7:15am; bus leaves at 7:30am; parents pick up wrestlers at Wyoming at ~6pm

-          Varsity at Ohio All-Catholic (Cleveland); Wrestling begins at 9am

Sunday, Jan. 19 – Varsity at Ohio All-Catholic (Cleveland); Wrestling begins at 9am; finals at 3:30pm

Monday, Jan. 20 –

-          Practice (9am-11:30am) – No School

Tuesday, Jan. 21  – normal practice after school

Wednesday, Jan. 22  – OHSAA State Dual Regional

Thursday, Jan. 23 –

-          Varsity normal practice after school

-          Varsity B at home v. Hamilton Badin

Friday, Jan. 24 – normal practice after school

Saturday, Jan. 25 –

-          Varsity B at Indian Lake Tournament; wrestling begins at 10am

-          Varsity at Detroit Catholic Central

Monday, Jan. 27 - normal practice after school

Tuesday, Jan. 28 - normal practice after school

Wednesday, Jan. 29 – OHSAA State Dual Regional Finals

Thursday, Jan. 30 - normal practice after school

Friday, Jan. 31 –

-          Varsity normal practice after school

-          JV/Frosh: GCL Tournament at Fenwick

Saturday, Feb. 1 – Varsity GCL Tournament at Fenwick

Monday, Feb. 3 – normal practice after school

Tuesday, Feb. 4 - normal practice after school

Wednesday, Feb. 5 – normal practice after school

Thursday, Feb. 6 - normal practice after school

Friday, Feb. 7 - normal practice after school

Saturday, Feb. 8 – OHSAA State Dual Finals

Monday, Feb. 10 - normal practice after school

Tuesday, Feb. 11 - normal practice after school

Wednesday, Feb. 12 - normal practice after school

Thursday, Feb. 13 - normal practice after school

Friday, Feb. 14 – Varsity Sectional Tournament

Saturday, Feb. 15 – Varsity Sectional Tournament

Monday, Feb. 17 - normal practice after school

Tuesday, Feb. 18 - normal practice after school

Wednesday, Feb. 19 – normal practice after school

Thursday, Feb. 20 - normal practice after school

Friday, Feb. 21 – Varsity District Tournament

Saturday, Feb. 22 – Varsity District Tournament

Monday, Feb. 24 - normal practice after school

Tuesday, Feb. 25 - normal practice after school

Wednesday, Feb. 26 – normal practice after school

Thursday, Feb. 27 – STATE TOURNAMENT

Friday, Feb. 28 – STATE TOURNAMENT

Saturday, Mar. 1 – STATE TOURNAMENT

 


Tags Cincinnati Moeller High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
Facebook
Google

Announcements


Partner