��� IRISH CAPTURE TITLE | HOOSIER SPORTS 365 Lacrosse | iHigh.com






Home » Lacrosse News


April 28, 2014

Box ScoreGet Acrobat Reader

CHESTER, Pa. - Notre Dame went on a 6-0 run in the third quarter and held on to defeat Syracuse, 15-14, to win the 2014 ACC Men's Lacrosse Championship Sunday afternoon at PPL Park.

"I couldn't be more proud of them," said Notre Dame coach Kevin Corrigan. "We didn't play tentatively like a team that's afraid and not sure what's going to happen to them. We played like a team that's going to go out and win games.

"The one thing was, no matter what happened - good play, bad play - we turned it right around, focused on the next play and played really hard and really fearlessly."

Matt Kavanagh, the Tournament's Most Valuable Player, led the Irish with four goals and two assists, including back-to-back goals in the pivotal third quarter.

Jim Marlatt tallied three goals and one assist for Notre Dame, while Conor Doylehad a career-high five points.

Irish goalkeeper Conor Kellyfinished with seven saves, including stopping Syracuse's Kevin Rice with four seconds remaining to clinch the league title.

After the Irish jumped out to a 3-1 lead in the first quarter, Syracuse went on a 5-0 run to take a 6-3 lead. Notre Dame scored four of the last five goals of the first half to send the game to the break tied at 7-7.

Syracuse converted on an extra-man opportunity to start the second half. Notre Dame then scored six goals and held the Orange scoreless for over 13 minutes to take a 13-8 lead.

Trailing 15-10 with under ten minutes remaining in the game, Syracuse scored four straight down the stretch to pull within one. The Orange had the ball with the chance to send the game to overtime but were unable to get the ball past Notre Dame's Kelly.

Syracuse's Chris Daddio won 21-of-33 faceoffs, including eight of the first nine in the game. Nick Ossellowent 10-of-25 and tied a career high with three points.

Rice, who had six assists and seven points for the Orange in the championship, set new tournament records with 15 points and 11 assists on the weekend. Randy Staats tied a career high with five goals against Notre Dame.

Both teams converted on two extra-man opportunities. Notre Dame was a perfect 2-for-2 with the advantage, while Syracuse went 2-for-3.

All three games of the 2014 ACC Men's Lacrosse Championship were decided by one goal, the first time that has happened...All three games were won by the team that lost the regular season matchup.

All-Tournament Team
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame (MVP) Conor Doyle, Notre Dame Stephen O'Hara, Notre Dame Conor Kelly, Notre Dame Brandon Mullins, Syracuse Kevin Rice, Syracuse Randy Staats, Syracuse Dylan Donahue, Syracuse Case Matheis, Duke Deemer Class, Duke Goran Murray, Maryland

Tags HOOSIER SPORTS 365 • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)