��� NCAA CHAMPION: Brooklynn Snodgrass Wins the 200 Backstroke | HOOSIER SPORTS 365 Swimming & Diving | iHigh.com






Home » Swimming & Diving News

NCAA CHAMPION: Brooklynn Snodgrass Wins the 200 Backstroke

March 23, 2014

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - For the second time in school history the Indiana women's swimming and diving team has an NCAA swimming champion as sophomore Brooklynn Snodgrasstook the 200 backstroke title Saturday night at the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships in Minneapolis, Minn.

Snodgrass joins Kate Fesenko, who won the 200 backstroke in 2010, as the Hoosiers only NCAA swimming champions. Indiana finished the meet in 12th place with 118 points, its highest point total since 2010.

Snodgrass qualified fifth for the championship final after posting a time of 1:52.48 in morning prelims. With a spot in lane two, Snodgrass took the field out fast and led through the first 100 yards with a time of 54.50. A strong second 50 of 28.15 allowed her to hold off a hard-charging Elizabeth Pelton of California, the current American record holder. Snodgrass finished in a career best 1:50.52 to Pelton's 1:50.55.

Snodgrass is just the second Hoosier ever to go under 1:51 in the backstroke, joining Fesenko who clocked a 1:49.92 in her NCAA Championship swim.

"I can't really describe it," Snodgrass told ESPN3's Cynthia Potter. "I looked at the clock and I almost didn't believe it. I had to take a second look before it kind of settled in.

"I was just focusing on my own race. I had a plan and I just did it and it paid off."

In the race prior to Snodgrass' swim, senior Lindsay Vroomanset a new school and Big Ten record in the 1,650 freestyle with a time of 15:44.45, good for fifth place. That cut more than four seconds off her previous school record (15:50.73) and breaks the Big Ten record of 15:44.56 set by Minnesota' Ashley Steenvoorden in 2012.

Kate Hillmanearned her first NCAA points, taking second in the consolation final and 10th overall with a score of 307.20 in the platform competition. Hillman missed out on the championship final by less than two points, tallying a score of 306.00 in prelims.

Senior Brenna MacLeanclosed out her Hoosier career with a 13th-place finish in the 200 butterfly, going 1:56.44 in her evening swim. She earned her spot in the consolation final with a prelim time of 1:55.85.

In the 200 backstroke prelims, Cynthia Pammett placed 22nd (1:54.76), with Allie Day 32nd (1:55.71), Justine Ress 40th (1:56.25) and Dorina Szekeres46th (1:56.91).

Kait Flederbach finished 33rd in the 100 freestyle with a time of 48.97, ranking just outside the all-time top five at IU. Bronwyn Pasloski finished tied for 20th in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:09.83. In the 200 butterfly prelims, Gia Dalesandroplaced 27th with a time of 1:56.99.

200 Backstroke
1. Brooklynn Snodgrass - 1:50.52 (Career Best; second-fastest time in IU history; All-American) (1:52.48 prelims)
22. Cynthia Pammett - 1:54.76
32. Allie Day - 1:55.71
40. Justine Ress - 1:56.25
46. Dorina Szekeres- 1:56.91

100 Freestyle
33. Kait Flederbach-48.97

200 Breaststroke
20. Bronwyn Pasloski- 2:09.83

200 Butterfly
13. Brenna MacLean - 1:56 .44 (1:55.85 prelims)
27. Gia Dalesandro- 1:56.99

1,650 Freestyle
5. Lindsay Vrooman- 15:44.45 (Big Ten and Indiana record; All-American)

Platform Diving
10. Kate Hillman - 307.20 (306.00 prelims)

Tags HOOSIER SPORTS 365 • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)