��� Eight Big Ten Volleyball Teams Selected to NCAA Championship | HOOSIER SPORTS 365 Volleyball | iHigh.com






Home » Volleyball News

Eight Big Ten Volleyball Teams Selected to NCAA Championship

December 2, 2013

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten will be well-represented at the 2013 NCAA Volleyball
Championship, as eight conference teams have been selected to the tournament's field
of 64. The eight chosen squads ties the Big Ten record for most teams sent to the
national tournament which happened four other times (1999, 2002, 2010, 2011).

Big Ten Champion Penn State enters the tournament as the No. 2 overall seed, while
No. 8 Nebraska, No. 10 Minnesota, No. 12 Wisconsin and No. 13 Illinois have each
earned top-16 seeds. Michigan, Michigan State and Purdue also received bids to round
out the Big Ten contingent in the tournament.

After winning its 10th Big Ten title in the last 11 years and receiving the
conference's automatic berth, Penn State will host first- and second round matches
and will take on LIU Brooklyn in Friday's first round of the Lexington Regional. The
Nittany Lions would take on either Utah or Yale in the second round with a
first-round win. The selection marks Penn State's 33rd tournament appearance.

Nebraska earns its 32nd consecutive trip to the NCAA Championship and will host
Fairfield in the Lincoln Regional on Friday. With a win, the Huskers would meet
Miami (Fla.) or Oregon in the second round.

Minnesota enters the tournament as an opening-round site, welcoming Radford to
Minneapolis for the first round on Friday. The Golden Gophers earned a berth to the
tournament for the 15th consecutive season and 19th overall and would take on either
Colorado or Iowa State in round two of the Lexington Regional.

Wisconsin makes its 17th all-time appearance in the NCAA Championship and first
since 2007, taking on Milwaukee on Friday in Madison, Wis., as part of the Champaign
Regional. The winner of the match will advance to take on North Carolina or

Michigan travels to Seattle, for its first-round match in the Los Angeles Regional
against LSU on Friday at 8 p.m. ET. The NCAA bid marks the Wolverines' eighth in a
row and 14th all-time. Michigan would advance to play No. 3 Washington or Alabama
State with a first-round win.

Michigan State earns its third consecutive postseason berth and 16th in program
history and will take on Ohio in Lexington, Ky., in Friday's first round of the
Lexington Regional. The Spartans would meet either No. 15 Kentucky or Duquesne in
Round 2 with a win.

Purdue enters the field of 64 for the ninth straight season and 16th overall and
will take on Central Arkansas in Columbia, Mo., in the opening round of the
tournament on Friday. The Boilermakers would take on either IUPUI or No. 4 Missouri
in the second round of the Champaign Regional with a first-round win.

Illinois, which earned a No. 13 seed, will entertain Morehead State at 8 p.m. ET on
Friday. With a first-round win, Illinois would face Louisville or Marquette in the
second round of the Champaign Regional. The Illini are making their 21st appearance
in the national tournament and fifth in the last six years.

First and second-round matches will take place on campus sites on Thursday, Friday
and Saturday, while regionals will be played at one of four sites on Dec. 13 and 14.
Regional winners will advance to Seattle, to compete in the national semifinals on
Dec. 19, with the national championship set for Dec. 21.

Tags HOOSIER SPORTS 365 • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)