��� STUDENT/ATHLETES HONORED | Earlham College Broadcast Sports Athletics | iHigh.com




Home » Athletics News


April 9, 2014
Earlham College Broadcast Sports

RICHMOND, Ind. — There were several Earlham College student-athletes recognized on
Wednesday as part of the annual Awards Convocation in Goddard Auditorium.

There were three recipients of the George Van Dyke Outstanding Athlete Award, which
is the major honor in Earlham athletics.

Ryan Hayes and Frank Mbaya earned the award for the men, while Bria Sneed picked up
the honor for the women.

Hayes is a two-sport athlete for the Quakers in football and baseball, while Mbaya
was a member of the men's soccer team. Sneed played for the women's basketball

The Van Dyke Award was established by an anonymous alumni gift to honor Van Dyke,
professor of physics 19 30-63. It is given to senior students who have made the most
outstanding contribution to Earlham athletics. Women were first honored in 1979.

Academic Honor

There were a 16 student-athletes honored for academic performance with at least a
3.2 GPA.

The Wendel M. Stanley Senior Scholar-Athlete Award recipients are:

• Zander Ansara – Soccer, Track
• Charlie Boyd – Cross Country, Track
• Simon Conrad – Cross Country, Track
• Sam Embry – Soccer
• Matthew Foster – Tennis
• T.J. Ilhardt – Baseball

The Wendel M. Stanley Scholar-Athlete Award was established to honor one of the
College's most distinguished alumni and an outstanding student-athlete. Wendell
Stanley '26, received an Earlham Honorary Science degree in 1938 and a Nobel Prize
in Chemistry in 1946. It is given to seniors who have combined significant
participation in intercollegiate athletics with an unusually high level of academic
achievement (3.2 GPA).

The Kathryn Weber Senior Scholar-Athlete Award recipients are:

• Diana Ainembabazi – Field Hockey
• Jessica Childs – Tennis
• Olivia Engle – Tennis
• Maddie Fega – Cross Country, Track
• Annie Frodeman – Soccer
• Hanna Klondaris – Cross Country, Track
• Claire Murphy – Soccer
• Christine Page – Soccer
• Kazondra Ramos – Volleyball
• Elizabeth Richards – Soccer

The Kathryn Weber Scholar-Athlete Award was established to honor Kathryn Weber '29,
professor of physical education 1936-73, convener of the women's physical education
department, director of Big May Day and role model for many women students. It is
given to senior women who meet the following criteria: maintenance of a 3.2 or
higher cumulative grade point average and significant contribution to the athletic

Tags Earlham College Broadcast Sports • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article