��� EARLHAM AWARDS | Earlham College Broadcast Sports Athletics | iHigh.com




Home » Athletics News


April 10, 2013
Earlham College Broadcast Sports

RICHMOND, Ind. — Several Earlham College student-athletes were recognized as part of
the annual Awards Convocation in Goddard Auditorium on Wednesday.

There were three recipients of the George Van Dyke Outstanding Athlete Award, the
major honor in Earlham athletics. Men's tennis player Brad Maisey earned the award
for the men, while twin sisters from the women's soccer squad, Ikumi Doucette and
Joy Doucette received the honor for the women.

The Van Dyke Award was established by an anonymous alumni gift to honor Van Dyke,
professor of physics 1930-63. It is given to senior students who have made the most
outstanding contribution to Earlham athletics. Women were first honored in 1979.

Academic Honors

There were a dozen student-athletes honored for academic performance with at least a
3.2 GPA.

The Wendel M. Stanley Senior Scholar-Athlete Award recipients are:

• Evan Elko - Biochemistry – Men's Soccer
• Sam Ward - Biology – Baseball

Wendel M. Stanley Scholar-Athlete Award was established to honor one of the
College's most distinguished alumni and an outstanding student-athlete. Wendell
Stanley '26, received an Earlham Honorary Science degree in 1938 and a Nobel Prize
in Chemistry in 1946. It is given to seniors who have combined significant
participation in intercollegiate athletics with an unusually high level of academic
achievement (3.2 GPA).

The Kathryn Weber Senior Scholar-Athlete Award recipients are:

• Kate Birdsall - Women’s Studies – Field Hockey, Women's Track
• Karmell Brown – Business & Non-Profit Management – Women's Basketball
• Ryder Comstock – Sociology/Anthropology – Women's Soccer
• Ikumi Doucette – Geology – Women's Soccer
• Christine Ferguson - Human Development & Social Relations – Field Hockey
• Hannah Santino – English – Women's Cross Country
• Cate Simmermaker – Biochemistry – Women's Soccer
• Paige Thomas – Neuroscience – Women's Soccer
• Olivia Thornburg - Neuroscience – Women's Cross Country
• Emma Treece – International Studies – Field Hockey

The Kathryn Weber Scholar-Athlete Award was established to honor Kathryn Weber '29,
professor of physical education 1936-73, convener of the women's physical education
department, director of Big May Day and role model for many women students. It is
given to senior women who meet the following criteria: maintenance of a 3.2 or
higher cumulative grade point average and significant contribution to the athletic

Two awards for men's soccer that were announced after the 2012 season were
officially handed out during the ceremony. The Charles Matlack Most Valuable Player
was Frank Mbaya, while the Lauren DeCou Most Valuable First Year went to Jacob Ebbs
and Mussa Ibrahim.

Tags Earlham College Broadcast Sports • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article