��� Anderson Selected to Repeat as HCAC Softball Champs | Earlham College Broadcast Sports Softball | iHigh.com




Home » Softball News

Anderson Selected to Repeat as HCAC Softball Champs

January 23, 2013
Earlham College Broadcast Sports

GREENWOOD, IN - The Anderson University softball team has been selected as
the favorite to win the 2013 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference
softball title in a vote of league coaches.  The Ravens claimed 80 total
points and eight first-place votes in the Coaches' Preseason Poll.

Bluffton University placed second in the poll with 66 total points and one
first-place vote.  Manchester University finished third in the poll with 60
total points and was followed by Transylvania University with 59 points.
Defiance College (39), Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (34), Franklin
College (28), Hanover College (22), and College of Mount St. Joseph (17)
rounded out the poll.

Anderson finished the 2012 season as the conference champions and will be
looking for the school's sixth conference title this spring.  The Ravens
were 32-12 overall and 16-0 in conference play last season.  Anderson
claimed the HCAC tournament title with a 6-3 win over Manchester and ended
the season with a 6-1 loss to Carthage in the NCAA regional.

The Ravens return five All-HCAC first-team members from last season's team,
including the HCAC's Most Valuable Player and Pitcher of the Year.  Senior
Natalie Moorhouse (Albion, Ind./Central Noble) returns to play shortstop
after earning the top HCAC honor last spring.  Moorhouse posted a .511
batting average with a conference-best six home runs and 22 RBI in league
play.  Junior outfielder Katie Lee (Anderson, Ind./Highland) led the Ravens
at the plate last spring.  The first-team All-HCAC selection posted a
team-best .443 average in 40 games played, adding 37 runs scored, 12
doubles, and 17 RBI.

On the mound for Anderson, senior Devin Moorman (Batesville, Ind./H.S.)
returns after earning HCAC Pitcher of the Year as a junior.  Moorman
finished 8-0 last season with a 0.86 earned run average against conference
opponents.  The junior pitched eight complete games and struck out 26
batters in 49.0 innings of work.

Bluffton finished second in the league standings last season with an 11-5
record.  The Beavers were 26-17 overall and fell to Manchester (6-2) in the
HCAC tournament.  Bluffton returns two first-team All-HCAC members to the
lineup this spring.  Sophomore Katie Clark (New Palestine, Ind./H.S.) and
senior Shelby Wade (Delaware, Ohio/Buckeye Valley) will look to lead the BU
offense in 2013.  Clark led the Beavers last spring, batting .430 with 29
runs scored, 19 doubles, and 30 RBI, while Wade hit .317.

Manchester finished fourth in the conference race with an 8-8 record.  The
Spartans were 21-23 overall and lost to Anderson in the conference
tournament title game.  The black and gold return one first-team All-HCAC
selection to their lineup.  Junior Kylie Planck (Valparaiso, Ind./Wheeler)
will play third base for the Spartans this spring and hit .346 with 25 runs,
three doubles, four triples, and 15 RBI as a sophomore.

The 2013 softball season opens on February 23.  The HCAC portion of the
schedule will begin on March 23 with the HCAC Tournament slated for May 3-4.

2013 HCAC Softball Coaches Preseason Poll

Team                            Points (first place votes)

1. Anderson                  80 (8)

2. Bluffton                    66 (1)

3. Manchester               60

4. Transylvania              59

5. Defiance                   39

6. Rose-Hulman            34

7. Franklin                     28

8. Hanover                    22

9. Mount St. Joseph       17

2013 Softball Players to Watch

Anderson:  Amy Wuestefeld - OF/IF (Sr., Batesville, Ind./H.S.), Lauren Smith
- P/2B (Sr., New Palestine, Ind./H.S.), Katie Lee - OF (Jr., Anderson,
Ind./Highland), Natalie Moorhouse - IF (Sr., Albion, Ind./Central Noble),
Devin Moorman - P (Sr., Batesville, Ind./H.S.), Yardley Collett - 1B (So.,
Middletown, Ind./Shenandoah)

Bluffton:  Brittany Baker - 1B (So., Springboro, Ohio/H.S.), Chloe Shell - P
(So., Covington, Ohio/H.S.), Katie Clark - OF/1B (So., New Palestine,
Ind./H.S.), Shelby Erford - SS (Jr., Paulding, Ohio/H.S.), Shelby Wade - OF
(Sr., Delaware, Ohio/Buckeye Valley)

Defiance:  Katie Miller - OF (Sr., Archbold, Ohio/H.S.), Macy Ferrall - IF
(Jr., St. Marys, Ohio/Memorial), Kailea Holbrook - P (Jr., Defiance,
Ohio/H.S.), Kate Patchin - (Fr., West Farmington, Ohio/Bristol), Makayla
McAvoy (Fr., Mt. Gilead, Ohio/H.S.)

Franklin:  Alli Stropes - 1B/P (Sr., Trafalgar, Ind./Indian Creek), Adrienne
Way - OF/P (Sr., Noblesville, Ind./H.S.), Jessica Ayers- SS (So., Frankfort,
Ind./H.S.), Katie Struewing - 1B/3B (Fr., Greenwood, Ind./H.S.), Mackensie
Vanosdol - P/1B (Fr., North Vernon, Ind./Jennings Co.)

Hanover:  Leah Kemmerer - P (So., North Vernon, Ind./Jennings Co.), Dani
Merrick - SS (So., Eminence, Ind./H.S.), Abby Murphy - 3B/SS (So., Richmond,

Manchester:  Kayla Yates - OF (Sr., Delphi, Ind./H.S.), Kylie Planck - 3B
(Jr., Valparaiso, Ind./Wheeler), Maureen Lund - P (So., Huntington,
Ind./North), Ashlea Nash - P (So., Gas City, Ind./Mississinewa), Emily
Willmann - SS (So., Montpelier, Ind./Blackford)

Mount St. Joseph: Kim McElhinny - P/1B (Sr., Crestwood, Ky./Oldham Co.),
Taylor McElhinny - P/IF (So., Crestwood, Ky./Oldham Co.), Tanya Sefton - OF
(Sr., Vevay, Ind./Switzerland Co.), Claire Wehby - IF (Fr., Mason,
Ohio/H.S.), Lindsay Griffith - C/IF (So., Alexandria, Ky./Bishop Brossart)

Rose-Hulman:  Brianne Widmoyer - P/IF (Sr., Elkhart, Ind./Central), Alyse
Mueller - P/1B (Sr., Belleville, Ill./West), Carly Heibel - P/IF (So., Ft.
Wayne, Ind./Lakewood Park Christian), Allison Bowman - C/3B (Jr., Ft. Wayne,
Ind./Snider), Marissa Stout - P/2B (Fr., Terre Haute, Ind./South)

Transylvania:  Megan Mitchell - 3B (Sr., West Lafayette, Ind./Wm. Henry
Harrison), Alyssa Oakley - 1B (So., Lexington, Ky./Lafayette), Michelle
Ladanyi - SS/Util. (Sr., Winchester, Ky./Clark Co.), Chelsea Meiners - OF
(Jr., Louisville, Ky./Mercy), Elizabeth Young - P/Util. (So., Louisville,
North Oldham)

Tags Earlham College Broadcast Sports • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article