��� Conference Announces 2014 Big Ten Baseball Tournament Bracket | INDIANA SPORTS PAGE Baseball | iHigh.com






Home » Baseball News

Conference Announces 2014 Big Ten Baseball Tournament Bracket

May 18, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The conference office announced the 2014 Big Ten Baseball
Tournament bracket on Saturday, with Indiana securing the top seed after winning the
Big Ten Championship. This year's tournament will feature an eight-team field for
the first time and will be held May 21-25 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb., home
of the College World Series.

The Hoosiers, making their 11th all-time appearance in the Big Ten Tournament,
claimed the No. 1 seed for the second straight season after going 21-3 in Big Ten
play, making their .875 conference winning percentage the highest since Ohio State's
.893 winning percentage (25-3) in 1999. Indiana opens play against No. 8 Iowa at 5
p.m. CT on Wednesday. The Hawkeyes ended the year with a 10-14 conference mark and
earn their ninth Big Ten Tournament berth in program history.

Nebraska is the No. 2 seed after finishing the season with an 18-6 mark in
conference play. The Huskers have appeared in each of the last three Big Ten
Tournaments. Nebraska will face No. 7 Ohio State at 1 p.m. CT on Wednesday. The
Buckeyes finished the year with a 10-14 mark in conference play and rank second
all-time with 27 Big Ten Tournament appearances. By virtue of its series win over
Iowa, Ohio State earned the head-to-head tiebreaker.

Illinois claims the tournament's No. 3 seed after posting a 17-7 record in the Big
Ten. The Illini make their 20th all-time appearance in the conference tournament.
Illinois will face No. 6 Michigan State in the first game of the Big Ten Tournament
at 9 a.m. CT on Wednesday. The Spartans ended the year with an 11-13 mark in
conference action and return to the postseason tournament for the 11th time in
program history.

Fourth-seeded Minnesota will take on fifth-seeded Michigan in the final game of the
day on Wednesday, with first pitch scheduled for 9 p.m. CT. The Gophers and
Wolverines finished the year with matching 13-11 marks in conference play, but
Minnesota won twice in the teams' three-game series to earn the tiebreaker.
Minnesota makes its conference-record 29th all-time appearance in the tournament,
while Michigan earns its 23rd Big Ten Tournament berth.

Minnesota leads all conference teams with nine Big Ten Tournament titles, while
Michigan and Ohio State each have eight tournament crowns. Illinois has claimed four
postseason championships, Indiana owns three Big Ten Tournament titles and Purdue
has won the tournament once. The Hoosiers are looking to become the first Big Ten
program to win back-to-back tournament titles since Ohio State in 2002 and 2003.

The tournament's double-elimination format will culminate with a single championship
game on Sunday, with the winner earning the tournament title and the conference's
automatic berth to the NCAA Championship. All eight teams will begin play in one of
two brackets, with Indiana, Iowa, Michigan and Minnesota appearing in one bracket
and Illinois, Michigan State, Nebraska and Ohio State appearing in the other

Four contests are scheduled on Wednesday and Thursday, with two games slated for
Friday. Saturday will feature the winners of each bracket facing the remaining
one-loss team from the opposite bracket in the semifinals. As many as four games are
scheduled for Saturday, with the opportunity for two if necessary games to be played
to determine Sunday's championship game participants.

BTN will provide live coverage during the Big Ten Tournament. The network will carry
Games 3 and 4 on Wednesday, Games 6, 7 and 8 on Thursday, and each game on Friday,
Saturday and Sunday.


Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)