��� Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament Bracket Released | INDIANA SPORTS PAGE Women's Tennis | iHigh.com






Home » Women's Tennis News

Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament Bracket Released

April 21, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced the seedings and bracket for the
2014 Big Ten Women's Tennis Tournament on Sunday. With its win over Purdue on Sunday
afternoon, Michigan claimed the outright conference title, its fifth consecutive Big
Ten Championship, and the No. 1 seed in the tournament. The top-seeded Wolverines
closed the regular season with an 11-0 record in Big Ten play and a 19-3 overall
mark. Michigan receives a bye into the quarterfinals.

Northwestern earns the second seed after finishing the regular season 10-1 in
conference matches and 16-6 overall. The Wildcats are followed by third-seeded Ohio
State (18-7, 8-3 Big Ten). Purdue follows as the No. 4 seed after earning a 7-4 mark
in Big Ten play and 11-9 overall record. The top four seeds in the tournament
receive first-round byes and begin play in Friday's quarterfinals.

Illinois (13-9, 6-5 Big Ten) earns the fifth seed, winning the three-way tiebreaker
over No. 6 seed Minnesota and No. 7 seed Indiana. The Illini will take on No. 12
seed Nebraska (8-16, 0-11 Big Ten) in the first round, with the winner moving on to
face the Boilermakers. Sixth-seeded Minnesota (16-8, 6-5 Big Ten) will take on No.
11 seed Wisconsin (7-12, 2-9 Big Ten), with the winner advancing to face the
Buckeyes in the quarterfinals. Indiana (18-8, 6-5 Big Ten) claims the seventh seed
and will take on 10th-seeded Penn State (6-17, 2-9 Big Ten), with the Wildcats
facing the victor. The Nittany Lions secured the No. 10 seed after winning the
head-to-head tiebreaker over the Badgers. The winner of No. 8 seed Michigan State
(17-8, 5-6 Big Ten) and No. 9 seed Iowa (10-12, 3-8 Big Ten) will face the
top-seeded Wolverines on Friday.

The tournament is scheduled to begin on Thursday, with first-round matches starting
at 10 a.m. CT at Northwestern's Vandy Christie Tennis Center. Friday's quarterfinal
matches also begin at 10 a.m., while Saturday will showcase the tournament
semifinals starting at 10 a.m. Sunday's championship match is scheduled for Noon.

BTN will air the championship match on Thursday, May 8, at 5 p.m. ET.

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)