Home » Athletics News


March 29, 2014

March 29
1942 Stanford claimed the NCAA basketball Championship defeating Dartmouth, 53-38.
1944 Arnold Ferrin pumped in 22 points to lead Utah over Dartmouth, 42-40 for the NCAA Championship.
1950 CCNY edged out Bradley, 71-68, to win the NCAA title and became the first team to win both the NCAA and NIT titles in the same year. CCNY beat Bradley, 69-61, in the NIT Championship game March 18th.
1969 Diane Crump became the first female jockey to win a stakes race when she took the Spring Fiesta Cup at the Fair Grounds aboard Easy Lime.
1977 Marquette downed North Carolina, 67-59, for the NCAA title.
1982 Louisiana Tech defeated Cheyney State, 76-62, in the first NCAA women's basketball championship.
1982 Michael Jordan's jump shot with 16 seconds remaining gave North Carolina a 63-62 victory over Georgetown for the NCAA men's basketball championship.
1984 A day that will live in infamy for true NFL, and in particular, Baltimore Colts fans. Colts owner Robert Irsay, in the middle of the night, had 15 moving vans loaded up with team equipment and records and moved to Indianapolis.
1985 The North American Soccer League suspended operations.
1988 Jockey Pat Day recorded his 4,000th victory aboard Ann's Bid in the ninth race at Oaklawn Park.
1999 Richard Hamilton scored 27 points to lead University of Connecticut to a shocking 77-74 victory over overwhelming favorite, Duke in the NCAA championship.
2003 Dwyane Wade poured in 29 points, grabbed 11 rebounds and added 11 assists to power Marquette to a stunning 83-69 rout of Kentucky in the Midwest Regional final of the NCAA Tournament.
2003 Kirk Hinrich scored 28 points and made a key block in the closing seconds, as Kansas advanced to the Final Four for the second consecutive year with a 78-75 victory over Arizona in the West Regional Final of the NCAA Tournament.
2006 Indiana named Kelvin Sampson its new basketball coach.
2007 Frank Young poured in 24 points as West Virginia captured the 70th annual NIT championship with a 78-73 victory over Clemson.
2008 Kevin Love scored 19 points and pulled down 10 rebounds, as UCLA gained its third straight Final Four berth with a 76-57 rout of Xavier in the West Regional final of the NCAA Tournament.
2008 Tyler Hansbrough had 28 points and 13 rebounds to lead North Carolina to the Final Four with a 83-73 victory over Louisville in the East Regional final of the NCAA Tournament.
2008 Big Brown won the Florida Derby.
2009 Goran Suton finished with 19 points and 10 rebounds, as second-seeded Michigan State dominated the NCAA Tournament's top seed, Louisville, 64-52, to win the Midwest Region and advance to the Final Four.
2009 Ty Lawson finished with 19 points, as top-seeded North Carolina defeated second-seeded Oklahoma, 72-60, to win the NCAA Tournament's South Region and advance to the Final Four.
2009 Women's Professional Soccer played its first ever game. The Los Angeles Sol defeated the Washington Freedom, 2-0.
2009 Lou Saban, the longtime college and pro football coach who led the Buffalo Bills to a pair of AFL championships, died at the age of 87.
2009 For the second straight year, Tiger Woods birdied the 72nd hole to win the Arnold Palmer Invitational.
2011 Longtime Fiesta Bowl president and CEO John Junker was fired following a lengthy and wide-ranging investigation that uncovered, among other things, a scheme to reimburse improper political campaign contributions.
2012 Tulsa named Danny Manning its new basketball coach.
2012 Chasson Randle and Aaron Bright scored 15 points apiece as Stanford cruised to a 75-51 victory over Minnesota in the NIT title game.
2013 The Dallas Cowboys signed QB Tony Romo to a six-year contract extension.
2013 The Detroit Tigers signed pitcher Justin Verlander to a seven-year contract extension worth $180 million.
2013 The San Francisco Giants signed catcher Buster Posey to a nine-year contract worth $167 million.

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)