��� Big Ten Announces Hockey Postseason Honors | INDIANA SPORTS PAGE Hockey | iHigh.com






Home » Hockey News

Big Ten Announces Hockey Postseason Honors

March 17, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced the hockey All-Conference teams
and individual award winners on Monday as selected by the conference's coaches and a
media panel. Minnesota's Adam Wilcox was named Big Ten Player and Goaltender of the
Year. Fellow Gopher Mike Reilly earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, awarded
to a defenseman or forward, while Minnesota head coach Don Lucia was tabbed Coach of
the Year. Michigan's JT Compher collected Freshman of the Year laurels.

Wilcox led the conference in every goaltending category en route to Big Ten Player
and Goaltender of the Year honors. The sophomore allowed just 30 goals in 18
conference games, for a goals-against average of 1.64. No other Big Ten goaltender
posted a goals against average of less than 2.00. Wilcox recorded 479 saves and a
.941 save percentage en route to a 13-2-3 conference record.

Reilly anchored a Minnesota defense that ranked first in the Big Ten, limiting
opponents to 1.85 goals per game. The sophomore led the conference in scoring from
the blue line, tallying 15 points on three goals and 12 assists in conference play.
He tied for third among all players in the Big Ten in assists and tied for 12th
overall in points. Reilly also recorded nine power-play points, which was tied for
fourth in the conference.

Lucia won Coach of the Year honors after leading Minnesota to a 25-5-6 overall
record and 14-3-3-0 conference mark en route to the inaugural Big Ten Championship.
The Gophers earned the No. 1 seed and a first-round bye in the Big Ten Men's Ice
Hockey Tournament.

Compher paced a Michigan offense that led the Big Ten in scoring in conference play
en route to Freshman of the Year accolades. The newcomer ranked in the top 10 of
numerous conference categories, including tied for third in assists (12), fourth in
points (20), tied for fourth in goals (eight) and tied for 10th in power-play points
(five). His 20 points were seven more than any other freshman in conference

Reilly and Wilcox were joined on the All-Big Ten first team by Ohio State's Ryan
Dzingel and Wisconsin's Jake McCabe, Michael Mersch and Mark Zengerle. Compher was a
second-team selection, along with fellow Wolverine Mac Bennett, Minnesota's Kyle Rau
and Wisconsin's Nic Kerdiles, Joel Rumpel and Frankie Simonelli.

The Big Ten also recognized six Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes
chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and
ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and
have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. This
season's honorees are Michigan's Luke Moffatt, Michigan State's Greg Wolfe,
Minnesota's Nate Condon, Ohio State's Tanner Fritz, Penn State's David Glen and
Wisconsin's Simonelli.

READ MORE: 2014-All-Big-Ten.pdf 

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)