Home » Athletics News


March 13, 2014

March 13
1894 Horse Racing's starting gate was invented by J.L. Johnstone of England.
1960 The Chicago Cardinals franchise of the National Football League was transferred to St. Louis.
1961 Floyd Patterson knocked out Ingemar Johansson in the 6th round to retain the world heavyweight title in Miami Beach, Florida.
1982 American Elaine Zayak won the world figure skating championship
1992 L.A. Lakers broadcaster Chick Hearn called his 2,500th consecutive Lakers game at the Richfield Coliseum in Cleveland, a streak dating back to November of 1965.
1996 Passionate Kisses won the Jersey Girls final in 1:54.2 at the Meadowlands.
1999 Dallas forward A.C. Green extended his consecutive-game playing record streak to 1,000 games.
1999 Calgary defenseman Phil Housely assisted on three goals to move past Joe Mullen as the all-time United States points leader in the NHL with 1,066.
2000 Future Hall of Fame QB Dan Marino announced his retirement.
2002 The Oakland Raiders named Bill Callahan their new head coach.
2002 San Francisco 49ers signed RB Garrison Hearst to a six-year contract.
2003 The Carolina Panthers RB Stephen Davis to a five-year contract.
2003 The Chicago Bears signed QB Kordell Stewart to a two-year contract.
2004 The Dallas Cowboys signed QB Drew Henson to an eight-year contract.
2005 Illinois, Duke, North Carolina and Washington were named top-seeds in the Men's NCAA Tournament.
2005 LSU, Tennessee, North Carolina and Michigan State were named top-seeds in the Women's NCAA Tournament.
2005 Donyell Marshall tied an NBA-record with 12 three-pointers and the Toronto Raptors established a new league mark with 21 as a team in their 128-110 victory over the Philadelphia 76ers.
2006 North Carolina, Duke, LSU and Ohio State earned top-seeds in the NCAA Women's Tournament.
2006 Legendary Temple men's basketball head coach John Chaney announced his retirement. Chaney complied a record of 741-311 in 34 seasons as head coach.
2006 The Washington Redskins signed WR Antwaan Randle El to a four-year contract.
2007 The Pittsburgh Penguins announced that they have reached an agreement with city, county and state officials for the financing of a new arena that will keep the club in Pittsburgh.
2007 American skier Bode Miller won the Men's AUDI FIS World Cup overall title.
2009 The St. Louis Rams released WR Torry Holt.
2009 Oregon head football coach Mike Bellotti resigned to become the school's next athletic director. Offensive coordinator Chip Kelly was named the new head coach.
2010 The Cleveland Browns signed QB Jake Delhomme to a two-year contract.
2011 Ohio State was named the #1 overall seed for the Men's NCAA Tournament. Duke, Pittsburgh and Kansas were the remaining top-seeds.
2011 Arkansas fired basketball coach John Pelphrey.
2012 South Carolina fired basketball coach Darrin Horn.
2012 BYU rallied from a 25-point deficit to stun Iona, 78-72, and claim the largest comeback in NCAA Tournament history.
2012 The New Orleans Saints have re-signed WR Marques Colston to a five-year contract.
2012 The Chicago Bears acquired WR Brandon Marshall from Miami Dolphins for two draft picks.
2012 The Tampa Bay Buccaneers signed WR Vincent Jackson to a five-year contract.
2012 The San Diego Chargers signed WR Robert Meachem to a four-year contract.
2012 The Washington Redskins signed WR Pierre Garcon to a five-year contract.
2012 Dallas Seavey, at the age of 25, became the youngest person to win the Iditarod when he finished the 1,150-mile trek from Anchorage to Nome on with a time of nine days, four hours and 29 minutes.
2013 The Detroit Lions signed RB Reggie Bush to a four-year contract.
2013 The Cleveland Browns signed DL Desmond Bryant to a five-year contract.
2013 The Tampa Bay Buccaneers signed safety Dashon Goldson to a five-year contract.
2013 The Denver Broncos signed WR Wes Welker to a two-year contract.

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)