��� UConn's Shabazz Napier Named American Athletic Conference Player of the Year | INDIANA SPORTS PAGE Basketball | iHigh.com






Home » Basketball News

UConn's Shabazz Napier Named American Athletic Conference Player of the Year

March 12, 2014

MEMPHIS, Tenn. -  UConn guard Shabazz Napier, a unanimous American Athletic
Conference First Team selection and a finalist for the top individual honors in
college basketball, was named as the first American Athletic Conference Player of
the Year Wednesday by Commissioner Mike Aresco.

The award was one of eight individual honors presented during a luncheon at the
Gibson Guitar Factory following voting by the league's 10 head coaches.

Cincinnati, which won a share of the first American Athletic Conference
regular-season title, had three individual award winners as forward Justin Jackson
was named Defensive Player of the Year, guard Sean Kilpatrick was the recipient of
the conference's Sportsmanship Award, and coach Mick Cronin earned Coach of the Year
honors from his counterparts.

Memphis had two winners as forward Austin Nichols was chosen as the Rookie of the
Year, while guard Michael Dixon Jr., earned the league's Sixth Man Award. Louisville
forward Montrezl Harrell was named Most Improved Player, while Temple guard Jimmy
McDonnell was chosen as the Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the conference's academic
affairs committee.

A senior from Roxbury, Mass., Napier established himself as arguably the nation's
top all-around player in 2013-14. He led the Huskies in scoring (17.8 points per
game), rebounding (6.0 per game) and assists (5.2 per game), becoming the only
player in school history to lead UConn in all three categories in the regular
season. He shot 42.6 from the field and 40.4 percent from 3-point range, and he
enters postseason play ranked seventh on UConn's career scoring list (1,790 points).
Napier is second in school history in career steals (235) and fourth in assists

Napier is second in the conference in scoring, assists and free throw shooting
(.877) and is third in The American in steals at 1.8 per game. Napier averaged 19.3
points in conference games as he led UConn to a 12-5 finish in The American and a
24-6 overall record. Napier is a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award and is on the
final watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, the Naismith Trophy, the Senior
CLASS Award and the Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award.

Cronin earned American Coach of the Year honors after he led Cincinnati to a 26-5
overall record, a 15-3 conference mark and a share of the first American Athletic
Conference regular-season championship. The Bearcats enter the postseason ranked No.
13 in this week's Associated Press poll and No. 12 in the USA Today Coaches' Poll.

Jackson was tabbed as the top defensive player in the American after he led the
conference in blocks (2.9 per game) and was fifth in rebounding (7.1 per game) and
field goal percentage (.548). He is a key inside presence on both ends for a
Cincinnati squad that ranks fourth nationally in scoring defense (58.4 points per
game) and 17th nationally in field goal percentage defense (39.4 percent).

Nichols was chosen as The American's top rookie after he averaged 9.3 points and 4.3
rebounds for the Tigers and was the lone unanimous choice on the conference's
All-Rookie Team. He was named American Athletic Conference Rookie of the Week four
times, including in each of the last three weeks of the regular season.

Harrell, who was named Most Improved Player, enjoyed a breakout sophomore season for
Louisville as the forward averaged 14.0 points and 8.3 rebounds per game and led The
American in field goal percentage (.612). He averaged 5.7 points and 3.6 rebounds
per game in 2012-13.

Dixon earned Sixth Man of the Year accolades after he averaged 12.2 points and shot
48.1 percent from the field, despite starting just four of the Tigers' 31 games. He
came off the bench in all 18 conference games to average 13.3 points and shot 50
percent from the floor against conference opponents.

Kilpatrick, who joined Napier and Louisville guard Russ Smith as unanimous
selections to the All-Conference First Team, was honored by the conference head
coaches with the league's Sportsmanship Award. After redshirting in the 2009-10
season, Kilpatrick went on to enjoy one of the great careers in Bearcat history. He
returned for his senior season went on to lead The American in scoring (20.9 points
per game) and was chosen as a Sporting News All-America first team choice and is a
candidate for the Wooden Award, Naismith Trophy and Oscar Robertson Trophy.

2014 American Athletic Conference Men's Basketball Honors
Player of the Year
Shabazz Napier, G, UConn

Coach of the Year
Mick Cronin, Cincinnati

Rookie of the Year
Austin Nichols, F, Memphis

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jimmy McDonnell, F, Temple

Defensive Player of the Year
Justin Jackson, F, Cincinnati

Sixth Man of the Year
Michael Dixon Jr., G, Memphis

Most Improved Player
Montrezl Harrell, F, Louisville

Sportsmanship Award
Sean Kilpatrick, G, Cincinnati

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)