��� Penn State Wins 2014 Big Ten Wrestling Championships | INDIANA SPORTS PAGE Wrestling | iHigh.com






Home » Wrestling News

Penn State Wins 2014 Big Ten Wrestling Championships

March 10, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Penn State won its fourth-straight Big Ten Wrestling Championships
title on Sunday, claiming first place with a score of 140.5. The Nittany Lions
become just the fifth school to win four consecutive conference titles and the first
since Iowa won 25 successive crowns from 1974-1998. Penn State took home two
individual titles, as Ed Ruth and David Taylor closed their careers as just the 12th
and 13th wrestlers to be crowned four-time Big Ten Champions.

Iowa finished in second place with 134 points, while Minnesota took third with
114.5. Fourth-place Ohio State (86.5 points) and fifth-place Nebraska (79 points)
rounded out the top five.

Taylor was named Big Ten Wrestler of the Year and Wrestler of the Championships. The
senior becomes just the second grappler to be named Wrestler of the Year three
times, joining Iowa's Mark Ironside (1996-98). He is also the fourth consecutive
Nittany Lion to be named Wrestler of the Championships. Head Coach Cael Sanderson
took home Coach of the Year honors for the fourth year in a row, while
Northwestern's Jason Tsirtsis was tabbed Freshman of the Year. Tsirtsis becomes the
second Wildcat to win the honor, joining Scott Schatzman in 1996.

For the second straight year, Illinois' Jesse Delgado took home the 125-pound title.
Delgado, the No. 2 seed, earned a 3-2 victory over top-seeded Nico Megaludis of Penn
State in the second tiebreaker round. At 133, top-seeded Tony Ramos of Iowa posted a
2-1 decision against Wisconsin No. 2 seed Tyler Graff to win his first Big Ten

Ohio State's Logan Stieber earned his third conference crown, as the No. 2 seed
picked up a 7-3 decision against Penn State No. 1 seed Zain Retherford to claim the
141-pound title. The 149-pound crown went to No. 3 seed Tsirtsis, who earned a 6-2
decision against top-seeded Jake Sueflohn of Nebraska to clinch his first Big Ten

At 157, No. 2 seed James Green of Nebraska scored a 7-4 decision to defeat No. 4
seed Derek St. John of Iowa and take home the Huskers' first individual wrestling
crown. Taylor, a No. 1 seed at 165, won his fourth Big Ten title in as many seasons,
earning the championship with a 14-5 major decision against Iowa No. 2 seed Nick

Nebraska No. 1 seed Robert Kokesh claimed the Huskers' second Big Ten title, taking
the 174-pound championship with a 6-4 decision against Iowa No. 3 seed Mike Evans to
earn the crown. Top-seeded Ruth claimed his fourth consecutive Big Ten title,
earning a 10-2 major decision over Iowa's third-seeded Ethen Lofthouse at 184.

Ohio State No. 2 seed Nick Heflin won the 197-pound Big Ten title, taking a 5-3
sudden victory over top-seeded Morgan McIntosh of Penn State. Rounding out the group
of individual Big Ten Champions was fifth-seeded heavyweight Tony Nelson of
Minnesota, who took a 2-1 sudden victory against Indiana No. 2 seed Adam Chalfant to
win his third conference crown.

The complete list of Big Ten individual awards and All-Big Ten honorees can be found
below, while the full results are attached.


Wrestler of the Year: David Taylor, Penn State

Freshman of the Year: Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern

Coach of the Year: Cael Sanderson, Penn State

Wrestler of the Championships: David Taylor, Penn State


Jesse Delgado, Illinois

Tony Ramos, Iowa

Tony Nelson, Minnesota

James Green, Nebraska

Robert Kokesh, Nebraska

Jason Tsirtsis, Northwestern

Nick Heflin, Ohio State

Logan Stieber, Ohio State

Ed Ruth, Penn State

David Taylor, Penn State

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)