Home » Athletics News


December 31, 2013

December 31
1961 The Green Bay Packers defeated the New York Giants, 37-0, to capture their first National Football League championship in 17 years.
1966 Ogden Phipps' Buckpasser, trained by Eddie Neloy, won the 13th consecutive race of his three-year-old season after taking the Malibu Stakes at Santa Anita Park.
1972 Roberto Clemente died on a mercy mission to supply food and medical supplies to flood victims in Nicaragua in a plane crash. Clemente ended his career with a .317 batting average.
1973 Notre Dame came from behind three times to defeat Alabama, 24-23 in Sugar Bowl.
1974 Jim "Catfish" Hunter, the first MLB free agent, signed with the NY Yankees.
1988 The Eagles and Bears played in the infamous "fog bowl", before 65,534 fans at Chicago's Soldier Field.
1989 Jockey Kent Desormeaux set the world record for most number of wins in a single season, 598, when he rode two-year-old East Royalty, trained by Phil Thomas Jr., to victory in the 10th race, the Inner Harbor Stakes, at Laurel.
1997 Buffalo Bills head coach Marv Levy stepped down after 11 years at the helm and four Super Bowl trips.
1999 Dallas' Brett Hull scored his 600 and 601st goal in a game against Anaheim. He became the 12th player is NHL history to score 600 goals.
2000 Air Force won the inaugural Silicon Valley Classic defeating Fresno State, 37-34.
2001 The San Diego Chargers fired head football coach Mike Riley.
2002 Virginia Tech won the inaugural San Francisco Bowl defeating Air Force, 20-13.
2003 The Oakland Raiders fired head coach Bill Callahan.
2004 Louisville defeated Boise State 44-40 in the highest scoring game in Liberty Bowl history.
2005 LSU crushed Miami-Florida, 40-3 in the Peach Bowl; Boston College held on to beat Boise State, 27-21 in the MPC Computers Bowl; UCLA and Northwestern combined for 88 total points, but it was Bruins winning, 50-38. The game had over 1,000 of total offense.
2005 South Florida played in its first ever bowl game and lost to NC State in the Meineke Car Care Bowl, 14-0.
2006 Minnesota fired head football coach Glen Mason.
2007 The Baltimore Ravens fired head coach Brian Billick.
2007 The Miami Dolphins fired general manager Randy Mueller.
2007 Oregon RB Jonathan Stewart set a Sun Bowl record with 253 rushing yards en route to a 56-21 victory over South Florida.
2008 New Mexico Stated named DeWayne Walker its new head football coach.
2008 Vanderbilt played in its first bowl game in 26 years and defeated Boston College in the Music City Bowl, 16-14.
2009 The Buffalo Bills named Buddy Nix their new general manager.
2009 Stanford played in its first bowl game in eight years and lost to Oklahoma in the Sun Bowl, 31-27.
2010 Miami-Ohio named Don Treadwell its new head football coach.
2010 The Carolina Panthers fired head football coach John Fox.
2012 Black Monday struck in the NFL as several coaches received pink slips: Chicago's Lovie Smith; Arizona's Ken Wisenhunt; Philadelphia's Andy Reid, Kansas City's Romeo Crennel, San Diego's Norv Turner; Buffalo's Chan Gailey, Cleveland's Pat Shurmur. General Managers that got fired include Cleveland's Tom Heckert; Jacksonville's Gene Smith, NY Jets' Mike Tannenbaum, San Diego's A.J. Smith and Arizona's Rod Graves.
2012 Boise State will not be joining the Big East's reconfigured football conference, it will remain a member of the Mountain West for all sports.

Details 7 Views
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)