Home » Basketball News


October 30, 2013

CLEVELAND - The Akron Zips and the Toledo Rockets have been selected to win their respective divisions in the 2013-14 MAC Men's Basketball Preseason Poll. The poll was announced prior to the league's preseason media teleconference and was determined by a 25-member MAC News Media Panel.

The Zips also garnered 14 votes to win the MAC Men's Basketball Tournament. Ten of the league's top men's basketball players were also selected to the preseason All-MAC teams for the East and West Divisions as announced by the league office.
Akron Head Coach Keith Dambrot will welcome back 10 letterwinners, including two starters from a team that won the 2013 MAC Men's Basketball Tournament with a 26-7 overall record, including 14-2 in the MAC, and fell to VCU in the NCAA Tournament's Second Round. Dambrot will be entering his tenth season at the helm of the Zips program and has a 210-94 (.691) overall record in Akron.  The Zips have won the last two MAC Regular Season Titles (2012, 2013) and have won the MAC Tournament title in three of the last five seasons (2009, 2011, 2013).

The Zips were followed in the East Division preseason predictions by Buffalo, while Ohio was selected to finish third and Kent State fourth.  Miami was selected fifth and Bowling Green sixth to round out this year's selections.  The Zips also received 14 votes to once again win the MAC Tournament Title.
Toledo Head Coach Tod Kowalczyk is entering his fourth season at UT's helm and continued to orchestrate a dramatic turnaround for the program during the 2012-13 campaign.  Toledo returns four starters from last year's 15-13 squad that tied Western Michigan for first place in the West Division.  All-Conference guards senior Rian Pearson (17.9 ppg, 6.8 rpg) and junior Julius Brown (13.1 ppg, 6.0 apg) will lead the Rockets along with last season's All-MAC Freshman selection Nathan Booth (8.3 ppg, 5.2 rpg).


Western Michigan followed Toledo in the preseason rankings in second, while Eastern Michigan was selected to finish third.  Ball State was picked to place fourth, while Central Michigan and Northern Illinois rounded out the West Division selections. Toledo also received seven votes to win the MAC Tournament Title.
The West Division preseason All-MAC representatives are Toledo's Rian Pearson and teammate Julius Brown, Western Michigan's Shayne Whittington, Ball State's Majok Majok and Eastern Michigan's Glenn Bryant.

The East Division All-MAC squad is comprised of Buffalo's Javon McCrea, Akron's Demetrius Treadwell, Miami's Will Felder, Buffalo's Will Regan and Akron's Quincy Diggs.
The MAC regular season gets underway on Friday, November 8 as seven MAC programs take the hardwood. Conference action begins on Wednesday, January 8 as all teams will start to fight for position in the MAC Men's Basketball Tournament that will take place on March 12-15 at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio.

2013-14 East Division Predicted Order of Finish 1. Akron - 143 Votes (18 first place votes) 2. Buffalo - 120 Votes (6 first place votes) 3. Ohio - 94 Votes 4. Kent State - 91 Votes (1 first place vote) 5. Miami - 42 Votes 6. Bowling Green - 35 Votes

2013-14 East Division Preseason All-MAC Team Javon McCrea, Buffalo Demetrius Treadwell, Akron Will Felder, Miami Will Regan, Buffalo Quincy Diggs, Akron

2013-14 West Division Predicted Order of Finish 1. Toledo - 149 Votes (24 first place votes) 2. Western Michigan - 108 Votes 3. Eastern Michigan - 101 Votes (1 first place vote) 4. Ball State - 89 Votes 5. Central Michigan - 50 Votes 6. Northern Illinois - 28 Votes

2013-14 West Division Preseason All-MAC Team Rian Pearson, Toledo Julius Brown, Toledo Shayne Whittington, Western Michigan Majok Majok, Ball State Glenn Bryant, Eastern Michigan

MAC Men's Basketball Tournament Winner: Akron (14); Toledo (7); Buffalo (1)

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)