��� Michigan Eyes Third Consecutive Title | INDIANA SPORTS PAGE Swimming & Diving | iHigh.com






Home » Swimming & Diving News

Michigan Eyes Third Consecutive Title

February 26, 2013

The Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center on the campus of Indiana University will
play host to the 2013 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships, which will
begin Wednesday, Feb. 27, and conclude Saturday, March 2. The championships begin
Wednesday night with timed finals of the 200-yard medley relay and 800 freestyle
relays at 6:30 p.m. ET. Competition will begin at 11 a.m. ET Thursday through
Saturday with preliminary heats, while finals will be held at 6:30 p.m. ET nightly.

Thursday's schedule features the 500 freestyle, 200 individual medley, 50 freestyle
and one-meter diving, while the 400 medley relay will be contested during the
evening finals. Friday's slate presents the 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly,
200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke and three-meter diving, with the 200
freestyle relay held in the evening. Saturday features the 200 backstroke, 100
freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly, 1,650 freestyle and platform diving,
while the 400 freestyle relay will be contested during the evening.

Last season, Michigan won its second consecutive Big Ten Championship and 36th
overall, recording 738.5 points over the four-day event. Ohio State finished second
with 552.5 points, and Indiana was third with 549 points. Minnesota came in fourth
with 403 points, and Iowa rounded out the top five with 395 points.

Nine out of the 12 individual winners from the 2012 Championships return to defend
their titles. The defending champion Wolverines return four individual winners from
a year ago. Kyle Whitaker aims for three-straight victories in the 200 and 400
individual medleys, while Michael Wynalda looks to take the crown in the 200
freestyle for the second year in a row. Senior Ryan Feeley is searching for a repeat
in the 500 freestyle, while teammate Connor Jaeger eyes his second consecutive win
in the 1,650 freestyle.

Ohio State senior Jason Schnur attempts to reclaim his crowns in the 50 and 100
freestyles from a year ago, while teammate Shane Miszkiel hopes to repeat as the
one-meter diving champion.

Indiana has a trio of returning winners. Cody Miller looks to duplicate his
first-place efforts in the 100 and 200 breaststroke, while James Wells aims for his
second 100 backstroke title in as many years. Darian Schmidt will try to defend his
three-meter diving crown.

Last year's relay events were led by Michigan, as the Wolverines won the 200 and 400
medley relays and the 800 freestyle relay, while Iowa took home the 200 and 400 free
relay crowns.

BTN will air tape-delay coverage of the Big Ten Men's Swimming & Diving
Championships at 10 a.m. ET on Saturday, March 9.

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)