��� Ohio's Cooper, Akron's Marshall Named Finalists For Lou Henson Award | INDIANA SPORTS PAGE Men's Basketball | iHigh.com






Home » Men's Basketball News

Ohio's Cooper, Akron's Marshall Named Finalists For Lou Henson Award

February 26, 2013


BOSTON, Mass. – University of Akron senior center Zeke Marshall & Ohio University senior guard D.J. Cooper have been named two of 25 finalists for the 2013 Lou Henson Award, which is awarded to the nations top mid-major player by CollegeInsider.com.

Marshall has helped the Zips to a 22-4 record and an 18-game winning streak, which is tied for the longest active streak in the nation. He is averaging 12.6 points, 6.8 rebounds and 3.5 blocked shots per game while shooting 65.5 percent from the floor.

Cooper, one of the most decorated players in the history of Ohio men’s basketball, is in the midst of a stellar senior season for the Bobcats. The Chicago, Ill., native ranks fifth in the nation in assists per game (7.6) and also leads the ‘Cats with 13.4 points and 2.1 steals per contest. He has led the team in assists in 24-of-27 games on the year and has posted at least 10 assists on seven occasions. For his career, Cooper has recorded the most assists in the history of the Mid-American Conference and is Ohio’s all-time leader in assists (897), steals (315), games started (132) and games played (136). He also ranks fifth all-time at Ohio in points (1,958) and is second in 3-pointers made (252).
For the second straight year CollegeInsider.com is working with Point3 Basketball to promote the Lou Henson award "fan vote," which will constitute 33 percent of the final vote. Fans can vote by visiting VoteLouHenson.com to place their vote.
The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

The 2013 award will be presented at the CollegeInsider.com awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

2013 Lou Henson Award Candidates
Travis Bader – Oakland
Billy Baron – Canisius
Jerrelle Benimon – Towson
Tommy Brenton – Stony Brook
Ryan Broekhoff – Valparaiso
Isaiah Canaan – Murray State
Jackie Carmichael – Illinois State
Will Cherry – Montana
Ian Clark – Belmont
Jake Cohen – Davidson
D.J. Cooper – Ohio 
Matthew Dellavedova – Saint Mary’s
James Ennis – Long Beach
Juan’ya Green – Niagara
Tyler Haws – BYU
Lamont Jones – Iona
Jake Odum – Indiana State
Jamal Olasewere – LIU-Brooklyn
Zeke Marshall – Akron
Ray McCallum – Detroit
Doug McDermott – Creighton
Mike Muscala – Bucknell
Augustine Rubit – South Alabama
Taylor Smith – Stephen F. Austin
Nate Wolters – South Dakota State

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)