��� Cawley Named First Team All-Big Ten; Wagner, Gogreve Also Recognized | INDIANA SPORTS PAGE Softball | iHigh.com






Home » Softball News

Cawley Named First Team All-Big Ten; Wagner, Gogreve Also Recognized

May 16, 2012

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Freshman designated player Shannon Cawley(Brookfield, Ill/Nazareth Academy) was named to the All-Big Ten First Team on Wednesday, the Big Ten Conference announced. She is the first Indiana freshman to receive first team recognition since Kim Powers in 1988.

Junior third baseman Amanda Wagner (Burbank, Ill.) was named to the Second Team and senior catcher Cassie Gogreveearned Third Team honors from the conference. Wagner was also the team's Sportsmanship Award nominee.

"We are so proud of the accomplishments of Shannon, Amanda and Cassie, along with the entire team this past season," Indiana head coach Michelle Gardnersaid. "All three of them are very deserving of this recognition from the Big Ten for the outstanding years that they had."

Cawley hit .351 in Big Ten play with one home run, four doubles and eight RBI and had an on-base percentage of .398. She has seven multi-hit games and reached base safely in each of the last 15 conference games. She was among the conference leaders with two sac flies, including the game-winning sac fly at Michigan State in the eighth inning of game one on Saturday.

Wagner, who was a second team honoree last year as a designated player, earns her second all-conference honor. She led the conference with a .576 on-base percentage while her slugging percentage (.717) ranked third and her batting average (.400) was tied for sixth among conference players. Additionally, she drew 20 walks in 24 conference games, the third-most in the Big Ten and her 22 RBI ranked fifth.

Gogreve hit .283 in Big Ten play with six doubles, 12 RBI and a conference leading nine hit-by-pitch to aid in her .427 on-base percentage. She also committed just three errors and had three sacrifice hits in Big Ten play. Gogreve was also instrumental in guiding an extremely young pitching staff - with five innings returning from last year - to 14 conference wins and a tie for fourth in the conference standings. With the three players receiving All-Big Ten accolades this season, that increases the total to 10 players that have been named All-Big Ten in the four years under head coach Michelle Gardner. And there have been three players named to the First Team All-Big Ten in the last two years after having just two receive the honor from 2001-2010 (Lauren Hines, 2006; Brooke Monroe, 2001).

Here is the complete list of All-Big Ten recipients for 2012:

All-Big Ten Teams and Individual Honorees

First Team
C - Liz Watkins, Sr., IOWA
1B - Amanda Chidester, Sr. MICH
2B - Whitney Massey, Jr., WIS
SS - Megan Blank, Fr., IOWA
3B - Marisa Bast, So., NU
OF - Kylene Hopkins, Jr., MSU
OF - Kendall Grimm, Jr., WIS
UT - Sara Driesenga, Fr., MICH
DP - Shannon Cawley, Fr., IND
P - Kayla Massey, So., IOWA

Second Team*
C - Kasie Hatfield, So., PSU
1B - Adrienne Monka, Jr., NU
2B - Courtney Breault, Jr., NEB
SS - Emily Allard, Jr., NU
3B - Amanda Wagner, Jr., IND
OF - Bree Evans, Sr., MICH
OF - Nicole Sappingfield, So., MICH
OF - Brooke Thomason, Jr., NEB
UT - Amy Letourneau, Fr., NU
DP - Michelle Zoeller, So., IOWA
P - Pepper Gay, Jr., ILL
P - Ashley Hagemann, Sr., NEB
P - Cassandra Darrah, So., WIS

Third Team
C- Cassie Gogreve, Sr., IND
OF - Johnnie Dowling, Jr., IOWA
2B - Ashley Lane, Jr., MICH
P - Sara Moulton, So., MINN
SS - Tyler Walker, Fr., MINN
3B - Gabby Banda, Jr., NEB
UT - Tatum Edwards, So., NEB
SS - Alicia Herron, Sr., OSU
C - Shelby Pickett, Fr., OSU
1B - Ashley Courtney, Jr., PUR
DP - Karla Powell, Sr., WIS

Player of the Year: Amanda Chidester, MICH
Pitcher of the Year: HAYLIE WAGNER, MICH
Freshman of the Year: Haylie Wagner, MICH
Coach of the Year: Carol Hutchins, MICH

* - Additional honorees due to tie
CAPS indicate unanimous selection

Sportsmanship Honorees
Kelley Wedel, ILL; Amanda Wagner, IND; Katie Keim, IOWA; Caitlin Blanchard, MICH; Lori Padilla, MSU; Dannie Skrove; MINN; Ashley Guile, NEB; Mari Majam, NU; Megan Coletta, OSU; Danee Collett, PSU; Ashley Courtney, PUR; Stephanie Peace, WIS

Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)