��� Cowboys qualify 21 wrestlers for state - Central Oregonian | Crook County High School Wrestling | iHigh.com




Athletic Information


CCHS Home Page


Miners Graduate Services






Home » Wrestling News

Cowboys qualify 21 wrestlers for state - Central Oregonian

February 24, 2013
Crook County High School

After dominating the Special District II wrestling tournament, the Crook County Cowboys are one of the favorites for the Class 4A State Wrestling Championship.

The Cowboys qualified 21 wrestlers for state, including nine district champions.

Trayton Libolt (106), Collbran Meeker (138), and Brendan Harkey (160) all enter the state tournament as number one seeds at their respective weight classes.

Hayden Bates (126), Alex Urrea (152), and Gunner Crawford (195) also have high seeds for the tournament with number two seeds.

Other seeded Cowboys are Johnny Avina, the number three seed at 113 pounds, and Dawson Barber (145) and Trevor Rasmussen (220) with number four seeds.

However, it isn’t just seeded wrestlers that make the Cowboys a threat to win the state championship. The Cowboys are possibly the deepest team in the state regardless of school classification.

Head coach Jake Huffman has consistently said that all of the wrestlers that Crook County is taking to state should be able to win matches.

Several other Cowboys are also expected to have a chance to place in the tournament.

After finishing second at district, Brent Bannon could make waves at 106 pounds. However, that weight class is loaded with experienced wrestlers.

At 126 pounds, Grayson Munn just missed placing a year ago. Munn returns with more experience and should be a contender. 138-pounder Ryder Shinkle also has tournament experience and reached the finals at district where he lost a close match to Meeker.

One of the surprises of the district tournament was 145-pounder Michael Seyl, who took third. Although he has no state meet experience, Seyl looked strong at district.

Dean Smith, 160, is another Cowboy who is expected to be in contention at state. After wrestling varsity all season, Smith was knocked off by Harkey in the district finals.

Clark Woodward and Aaron Swindle both qualified for state at 170 pounds, while Dylan Blasius and Curtis Crouch will represent Crook County at 182 pounds. Heavyweight Jason Williams also returns after placing sixth at state a year ago.

The final two Cowboy entrants are Zach Smith (195) and Gunnar Robirts (220).

The Cowboys, who finished fourth a year ago, have been ranked No. 1 in the state for much of the year. The team is undefeated in dual meets this year, and has won four tournaments.

Other teams that are expected to challenge the Cowboys at state include Sweet Home, Henley, and Cascade. Although Cascade is the defending champion, they have just 11 wrestlers at this year’s tournament, which may make it hard for them to defend their title.

Henley, with 16 wrestlers, and Sweet Home, with 13, are both also strong. All three teams have several wrestlers who are expected to reach the finals.

Other teams to watch for include Tillamook with 17 wrestlers and Scappoose with 10.

OSAA Class 4A

State Wrestling Tournament

The Oregon State High School Wrestling Championships are scheduled to take place at Veteran’s Memorial Coliseum in Portland on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 22, 23.

There will be five school classifications competing at the tournament.

Wrestling begins at 8:30 a.m., on both Friday and Saturday. Friday wrestling is expected to continue to approximately 8:15 p.m., while Saturday’s sessions run until about 10 p.m. Semifinals are set to start at 9:45 a.m., with the championship round scheduled to begin with the Parade of Champions at 6 p.m.

Tickets are available for each of the three sessions, or a tournament pass may be purchased. Tickets for Friday are $15 for adults and $10 for students. Each of Saturday’s sessions are $10 for adults and $8 for students. Season passes cost $35 for adults, and $25 for students. Passes are available online at osaa.org, or at the gate. Parking is limited at the event, so plan on arriving early to make sure that you don’t miss part of the wrestling.

Cowboy wrestlers in the tournament include —

Trayton Libolt (district champion 106), Brent Bannon (district runnerup 106), Johnny Avina (district champion 113), Hayden Bates (district champion 126), Grayson Munn (district runnerup 126), Collbran Meeker (district champion 138), Ryder Shinkle (district runnerup 138), Dawson Barber (district champion 145), Michael Seyl (third place 145), Alex Urrea (district champion 152), Brendan Harkey (district champion 160), Dean Smith (district runnerup 160), Clark Woodward (district runnerup 170), Aaron Swindle (fourth place 170), Dylan Blasius (third place 182), Curtis Crouch (fourth place 182), Gunner Crawford (district champion 195), Zach Smith (fourth place 195), Trevor Rasmussen (district champion 220), Gunnar Robirts (district runnerup 220), and Jason Williams (district runnerup 285)

Tags Crook County High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article