��� Brooks selected MVP of Columbus North softball for 2014 | Columbus North High School Softball | iHigh.com

This Week In Sports


Summer Camps

Bull Dog Bulletin

Athletic Training

Important Forms

A.D.'s Corner

Bull Dog Booster Club




Other Helpful Sites

Home » Softball News

Brooks selected MVP of Columbus North softball for 2014

June 5, 2014
Columbus North High School

    Columbus North senior Denisa Brooks was named MVP of the Bull Dogs' 2014 softball team at the team banquet Thursday evening (June 5).
    Brooks was the team's top hitter, posting a .462 batting average with five triples, eight RBIs and eight stolen bases for a 17-11 squad that finished as runner-up in Conference Indiana and in Class 4A Sectional 14.
    Brooks, the team captain, also was recognized for being chosen all-district by the Indiana Coaches of Girls Sports Association as well as ICGSA third-team all-state.
    Others receiving special awards were junior Kelsay Lucas, senior Grayson Harney, sophomore Tommi Stowers, senior Shannah Hercamp, sophomore Christine Bombardiere and sophomore Katie Prall.
    Also, Jerry Burton -- who is retiring from coaching -- was presented a plaque listing his accomplishments during a 23-year career in the dugout, the last five seasons at Columbus North.
    Lucas was presented the Bull Dog Award after hitting .364 with 12 doubles, two home runs and a team-best 30 RBIs, while Harney was saluted as the team's most valuable pitcher after posting an 11-4 record with a 1.46 earned run average and 70 strikeouts in 105.1 innings.
    Stowers, who hit .418 with 12 doubles and 24 RBIs, was recognized with the team's Best Offensive Award. Hercamp, who hit .312 with four doubles and three home runs, collected the Best Defensive Award with a .961 fielding percentage.
    Bombardiere was presented the Silver Slugger Award after hitting .375 with 10 doubles, one home run and 18 RBIs. Prall, who hit .357 with eight doubles, two triples and 11 RBIs, received the Mental Attitude Award.
    Those cited for all-Conference Indiana included Brooks, Harney and Stowers as first-team selections as well as Lucas and Bombardiere as honorable mention picks.
    Burton was recognized for his success as a coach in 16 seasons at Columbus East, two seasons at Jennings County and five seasons at Columbus North. His teams amassed 369 wins during his career, including an 88-53 mark with the Bull Dogs.
    Burton's teams won sectionals in 1995, 1996, 2002, 2003 and 2004 at Columbus East, in 2008 at Jennings County and 2011 and 2012 at Columbus North. His teams won regionals in 1995 at East and 2011 at North.
    Those recognized with varsity letters were seniors Marissa Anderson, Denisa Brooks, Grayson Harney and Shannah Hercamp; juniors Kelsay Lucas and Sheana Wasilewski; sophomores Christine Bombardiere, Elizabeth Bell, Makayla Caudill, Paige Devene, Katie Prall and Tommi Stowers; and freshman Sydney Perry. 
    JV awards went to juniors Dixie Burton, Allie Carr, Braylynn Eads, Alex Luse and Alix Rowing; sophomores Katelyn Boroughs, Addy Franco, Gabby Gonzalez, Valeria Guerrero, Lillie Petro and McKenzie Smith; and freshmen Kierrah Lane, Kaitlin Panning, Madisyn Prince, Kataja Smith and Alexis Taylor.

Tags Columbus North High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article