��� Speidel, Welmer chosen co-MVPs of Columbus North boys basketball | Columbus North High School Boys' Basketball | iHigh.com

This Week In Sports


Summer Camps

Bull Dog Bulletin

Athletic Training

Important Forms

A.D.'s Corner

Bull Dog Booster Club




Other Helpful Sites

Home » Boys' Basketball News

Speidel, Welmer chosen co-MVPs of Columbus North boys basketball

April 4, 2014
Columbus North High School

        Columbus North junior Josh Speidel and senior Elliott Welmer were recognized as co-MVPs of the Bull Dogs' 2013-14 boys basketball team at the team banquet on Wednesday evening (April 2).
        A 6-8 forward, Speidel averaged team highs of 17.2 points, 9.3 rebounds and 2.9 assists in helping Columbus North to a 20-6 season that included a co-championship of Conference Indiana. Speidel converted 56 percent from the field and 66 percent on free throws. He completed his junior season with 1,078 career points.
        The 6-9 Welmer contributed 15.6 points, 7.8 rebounds, 2.0 assists and 1.4 blocks. He made 61 percent from the floor and 62 percent on free throws.
        Junior Trent Larson and seniors Andre Abedian and Christian Glass also were recipients of special awards.
        Larson was named winner of the Bull Dog Award. The 6-3 guard averaged 9.6 points, 2.7 rebounds and 2.8 assists. He shot 46 percent from the field, 39 percent on 3-pointers and 75 percent on free throws.
        Abedian received the team Mental Attitude Award, while Glass was the recipient of the Behrman Big Dog Scholarship -- the latter award including a $500 college scholarship.
        Abedian was limited to five games because of an injury that occurred at a non-school soccer competition over the holidays, but he averaged 3.2 points and 1.0 rebounds in the games he did get to play.
        Glass contributed 5.5 points, 2.0 rebounds and 1.3 assists while shooting 41 percent from the field, 38 percent on 3-pointers and 73 percent on free throws. He plans to attend Xavier University where he will walk on to the baseball team as a pitcher.
        Earlier, Speidel, Welmer and senior Evan Henry were selected first-team all-Conference Indiana. Henry averaged 13.2 points, 3.4 rebounds, 2.2 assists and a team-high 1.8 steals. He converted 44 percent of his field goals, 38 percent on 3-pointers and 86 percent on free throws.
        Speidel also was picked to the 2014 Junior All-Star team, and he was honored as a first-team IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State selection.
        Welmer and Henry were honorable mention IBCA/Subway Senior All-State picks. Welmer also was chosen to the Hoosier Basketball Top 60 Senior Workout and has been chosen to play in the Indiana North-South All-Star Classic on April 13 at Vincennes University.
        Henry, who completed his four seasons with exactly 1,200 career points, was chosen first-team Academic All-State by the IBCA.
        The following athletes were recognized as varsity lettermen -- seniors Andre Abedian, Christian Glass, Evan Henry, Nick Littrell and Elliott Welmer; juniors Kooper Glick, Vince Grana, Marquis Humes, Trent Larson, Devin Mann and Josh Speidel; and sophomore Mitchell Kelley.
        JV awards were presented to sophomores Alex Algee, Cameron Fathauer, Payton Kelsay and Drew Schoeberl.
        Recipients of freshman team accolades were Grant Byers, Spencer Fairbanks, Zach Green, Alex King, Ethan Mitchell, Tanner Payne, Triston Perry, Stephon Peters-Smith, Wade Rankin, Peyton Russell and Nathan VanDeventer.

Tags Columbus North High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article