��� Columbus North boys basketball trio receives all-state honors from IBCA | Columbus North High School Boys' Basketball | iHigh.com

This Week In Sports


Summer Camps

Bull Dog Bulletin

Athletic Training

Important Forms

A.D.'s Corner

Bull Dog Booster Club




Other Helpful Sites

Home » Boys' Basketball News

Columbus North boys basketball trio receives all-state honors from IBCA

March 28, 2014
Columbus North High School

    Columbus North junior Josh Speidel as well as seniors Elliott Welmer and Evan Henry have been recognized by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.
    Speidel was named 2014 first team IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State, while Welmer and Henry each were selected 2014 honorable mention IBCA/Subway Senior All-State.
    The 6-8 Speidel averaged team highs of 17.2 points, 9.3 rebounds and 2.9 assists in leading the Bull Dogs to a 20-6 season that included a co-championship of Conference Indiana. Speidel shot 56 percent from the field (170-of-303) and 66 percent on free throws (90-of-137).
    A day earlier, Speidel also was selected to the core group of the 2014 Junior All-Stars.
    The 6-9 Welmer contributed 15.6 points, 7.8 rebounds, 2.0 assists and 1.4 blocks while shooting 61 percent from the field (153-of-251) and 62 percent on free throws (86-of-139).
    Welmer, who has committed to attend Saint Louis University, also has been selected to participate in the Hoosier Basketball Magazine Top 60 Senior Workout on April 6 at Marian University in Indianapolis.
    The 6-3 Henry tallied 13.2 points, 3.4 rebounds, 2.2 assists and 1.8 steals as CN produced a second consecutive 20-win season. The Saint Francis recruit shot 44 percent from the field (109-of-245), 38 percent on 3-pointers (54-of-144) and 86 percent on free throws (72-of-84).
    Both Henry and Speidel surpassed 1,000 career points during the season, while Speidel and Welmer each were chosen all-tournament at the City Securities Hall of Fame Classic. Speidel also was tabbed as MVP of the 16-team Bob Wettig Memorial Invitational in Richmond.
    Last season, Henry and Speidel were chosen honorable mention IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State.
    The 2014 first-team honorees for Senior All-State and Underclass All-State are listed below.
First Team
    James Blackmon Jr., Marion
    Trevon Bluiett, Park Tudor
    Aaron Brennan, Guerin Catholic
    Trevion Crews, Fort Wayne North
    Ernie Duncan, Evansville Harrison
    Jacob Johnson, Mooresville
    Justin King, Bowman Academy
    Trey Lyles, Indianapolis Tech
    Bryant McIntosh, Greensburg
    Zach McRoberts, Carmel
    Tayler Persons, Kokomo
    Sean Sellers, Greensburg
    P.J. Thompson, Brebeuf Jesuit
    Jeremie Tyler, Indianapolis Tech
    Tyler Wideman, Lake Central
First Team
    Gary Bonds, Indianapolis Scecina
    Harris Brown, Indianapolis Howe
    Ryan Cline, Carmel
    Davon Dillard, Bowman Academy
    Hyron Edwards, East Chicago Central
    Jordan Geist, Penn
    Brennan Gillis, Ben Davis
    Eron Gordon, North Central
    Drew Hackett, Munster
    Matt Holba, Guerin Catholic
    Joel Okafor, Richmond
    Chris Palombizio, Chesterton
    Josh Speidel, Columbus North
    Caleb Swanigan, Homestead
    K.J. Walton, Brownsburg


Tags Columbus North High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article