��� Taylor, Jiles, Grace Haskett collect Columbus North swimming MVP honors | Columbus North High School Swimming & Diving | iHigh.com

This Week In Sports


Summer Camps

Bull Dog Bulletin

Athletic Training

Important Forms

A.D.'s Corner

Bull Dog Booster Club




Other Helpful Sites

Home » Swimming & Diving News

Taylor, Jiles, Grace Haskett collect Columbus North swimming MVP honors

March 12, 2014
Columbus North High School

    Senior Cody Taylor, freshman Kaemon Jiles and freshman Grace Haskett each collected MVP honors at the Columbus North swimming team banquet on Tuesday evening (March 11).
    Taylor and Jiles shared the boys' honors, while Haskett was cited from the girls' team for the 2013-14 season.
    Taylor along with senior Sam Loescher, junior Matt Freudenthaler and sophomore Chase McQueen combined to pace the Bull Frog boys to fourth-place team finish in the IHSAA State Finals.
    Taylor won the 100-yard breaststroke in a state time of 54.24 seconds, and he also was second in the 200 individual medley in a school-record 1:48.35. 
    Jiles advanced to regional in diving, placing 10th there, less than two points from earning a state-meet berth.
    Loescher set a school record of 20.64 in the 50 free, and the Taylor, Loescher, Freudenthaler and McQueen quartet set a school best of 3:06.45 in the 400 free relay.
    Haskett placed sixth in the 100 back at the girls' state meet with a school-record time of 55.47 as well as 16th at state in the 50 free in 24.46 as the CN girls placed 14th as a team in the state meet.
    Junior Maddie Wyke also posted a school record of 55.94 in the 100 butterfly in the state-meet prelims.
    Several athletes shared the boys' Most Improved Award -- sophomore Jared Imlay,  sophomore Ben Thompson and freshman Harrison Griffin.
    Senior Michael Vogel and sophomore Craig Athaide were co-winners of the boys' Mental Attitude Award.
    On the girls' side, sophomore Olivia Haskett and junior Mary Jeffries shared the Most Improved Award while junior Karen Wildemann senior Tierney McAlister each was presented with the Mental Attitude Award.
    Forty-three athletes were awarded varsity letters. That total included 23 boys and 20 girls:
    Boys -- seniors Sam Loescher, John Rupp, Cody Taylor, Matthew Thompson and Michael Vogel; juniors Matt Freudenthaler, Zach Zeigler and Kevin Zhang; sophomores Craig Athaide, Jared Imlay, Jacob Landini, Chase McQueen and Ben Thompson; and freshmen Arturo Contreras, Ray Ehara, Harrison Griffin, Vijay Jampa, Kaemon Jiles, Patrick Lawler, Angel Torres-Martinez, Jackson Swain, Daniel Wheeler and Adam Zhuang.
    Girls -- seniors Mackenzie Bennett and Tierney McAlister; juniors Marah Bieger, Kelcie Davie, Mary Jeffries, Nakita Patil, Karen Wildemann and Maddie Wyke; sophomores Betsy Force, Margy Force, Mackenzie Fry, Olivia Haskett, Elizabeth Kalill, Rachel Lovins and Cori Taylor; and freshmen Darby Coles, Jennifer Gutman, Grace Haskett, Alyssa Lackey and Alexandra Nusawardhana.

Tags Columbus North High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article