��� Perry Meridian captures 13th straight Conference Indiana wrestling title | Columbus North High School Wrestling | iHigh.com

This Week In Sports


Summer Camps

Bull Dog Bulletin

Athletic Training

Important Forms

A.D.'s Corner

Bull Dog Booster Club




Other Helpful Sites

Home » Wrestling News

Perry Meridian captures 13th straight Conference Indiana wrestling title

January 19, 2014
Columbus North High School

    INDIANAPOLIS -- Senior Cody LeCount kept his undefeated season alive Saturday (Jan. 18), leading the Perry Meridian wrestling team to the championship of the Conference Indiana meet.
    LeCount, a 145-pounder, was one of six individual champions as the Falcons totaled 289 points to claim the team championship for the 13th consecutive season.
    Bloomington South with runner-up with 218.5 points followed by Franklin Central with 208 and Columbus North with 131. Terre Haute South (118), Terre Haute North (100.5), Bloomington North (75.5) and Southport (41) rounded out the eight-team competition at Southport.
    LeCount, last season's CI winner at 132 pounds, moved his record to 27-0 this season at 145. He was joined by Franklin Central's Seth Vaughn as an undefeated conference champion. Vaughn improved his season record to 21-0 while capturing the 220-pound title.
    Four more Perry Meridian athletes completed their day with blue ribbons. They included Ryan Hawkins at 106 pounds (now 22-7), Cornelius Elliott at 113 (25-2), Aidan Kenny at 126 (25-3) and Nathan Warman at 182 (24-4).
    Bloomington South collected five individual championships. Dakota Thacker moved to 28-1 for the season while winning the crown at 195 pounds. Other Panthers who prevailed were Griffin Schermer at 120 pounds (28-5), Ross Abram at 138 (28-5), Zach Hays at 170 (24-7) and Gus Dijani at 285 (30-3).
    DeRon Young gave Franklin Central a second individual champion. He was the winner at 160 pounds, improving to 16-3 for the season.
    The other winner was Phoenix Adams of Terre Haute South. Adams earned the top spot at 152 pounds, moving his season record to 29-1.
    Kenny, Thacker and Schermer joined LeCount as repeat champions. Like LeCount, all moved up in weight class. Kenny was last season's 120-pound champ. Thacker was last season's 182-pound champ. Schermer was last season's 106-pound champ.
    Perry Meridian also had six athletes capture runner-up honors, and that depth allowed it to pull away in the team competition. Bloomington South, Franklin Central and Terre Haute South each had two runner-up finishers, while Terre Haute North and Bloomington North each had one runner-up finisher.
2014 Wrestling Championships
At Southport
    Team scores: Perry Meridian 289, Bloomington South 218.5, Franklin Central 208, Columbus North 131, Terre Haute South 118, Terre Haute North 100.5, Bloomington North 75.5, Southport 41
Individual Results
    106 pounds: 1. Ryan Hawkins (PM); 2. Chapman Lustor (FC); 3. Darin Pemberton (THS); 4.  Luke Stull (BS); 5. Caleb Gosney (BN); 6. Tyler Rhoades (SP).
    113: 1.  Cornelius Elliot (PM); 2. David Lewis (THS); 3. Evan Speaker (CN); 4. Blake Webb (BS); 5. Quinton Percival (BN); 6. Zach Worden (FC).

    120: 1. Griffin Schermer (BS); 2. Jacob Cottey (PM); 3. Chris Vaugh (FC); 4. J.J.  Low (THN); 5. Micah Wilburn (SP); 6. Will Speaker (CN)

    126: 1. Aidan Kenny (PM); 2. Dalton Hair (FC); 3. Cody Speaker (CN); 4. Rex Stillions (BS); 5. Nic Church (THS); 6. Tosumba Welch (BN).

    132: 1. Brandon James (PM); 2. Devin Broukal (BS); 3. Jordan Vaughn (FC); 4. Brett Wright (SP); 5. Jessee Holt (CN); 6. Arik Sheets (BN).

    138: 1. Ross Abram (BS); 2. Ian Newton (THS); 3. Tanner Smith (FC); 4. Jordan Napier (PM); 5. David Ray (BN); 6. Braden Hinckley (CN).

    145: 1. Cody LeCount (PM); 2. Tyler Gilmore (THN); 3. Brennan Barlow (BS); 4. Trans McMillan (FC); 5. Jacob Lashley (CN); 6. Gedeon Salighpuig (SP).

    152: 1. Phoenix Adams (THS): 2. Michael Thomas (PM); 3. Evan Rigel (FC); 4. D.J. Dixon (BS); 5. Sean Elia (THN); 6. Andrew Jones (CN).

    160: 1. DeRon Young (FC); 2. Hunter Dalton (BN); 3. Mason Day (CN); 4. Garrett Wilson (PM); 5. Chase Webb (BS); 6. Luke Nelson (THN).

    170: 1. Zach Hays (BS); 2. Tristen Tonte (PM); 3. Taylor Sumner (FC); 4. Robert Clark (SP); 5. Jake Larson (CN); 6. Dylan Stucker (THN)

    182: 1. Nathan Warman (PM); 2. Zack Dobos (BS); 3. Luke Teague (CN); 4. Ryan Moshak (THN); 5. Jacob Imbro (FC); 6. Zach Wade (BN)

    195: 1. Dakota Thacker (BS); 2. Kaz Koehring (PM); 3. Josh Torres (FC); 4. Zach Schmidt (THN); 5. Casey Brock (BN); 6. Fabian Backett (THS).

    220: 1. Seth Vaughn (FC); 2. Shane Corman (PM); 3. Brandon Woods (CN); 4. Abel Rivero (THS); 5. Dakota Londo (THN); 6. DaVonte Smith (BN).

    285: 1. Gus Dijani (BS); 2. Chris Ridle (PM); 3. Conor Dwyer (THN); 4. Alex Minns (THS); 5. Kenny King (CN); 6. Collin Lynch (BN).

Tags Columbus North High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article