��� Shaw honored as MVP of Columbus North boys soccer | Columbus North High School Boys' Soccer | iHigh.com

This Week In Sports


Summer Camps

Bull Dog Bulletin

Athletic Training

Important Forms

A.D.'s Corner

Bull Dog Booster Club




Other Helpful Sites

Home » Boys' Soccer News

Shaw honored as MVP of Columbus North boys soccer

November 20, 2012
Columbus North High School

    Senior Brad Shaw was recognized as MVP and classmate McClain Goggin won the Bull Dog Award on Tuesday evening (Nov. 20) at the Columbus North boys soccer team's season-ending banquet.
    Shaw led the Bull Dogs to the Class 2A state championship, amassing 42 points on 17 goals and eight assists in a 17-1-4 season. Goggin was a defensive ace, helping the team to a dozen shutouts en route to the crown.
    Others cited at the gathering were junior Keaton Voegerl, senior Chris Gorbett and numerous others, including Goggin and classmates Mason Engel and Reid Wilson as team captains.
    Voegerl, who netted 22 points on eight goals and six assists, was selected the team's most improved player. Gorbett, who contributed one goal and four assists, was presented the David Green Spirit of the Game Award.
    Earlier, Shaw, Engel, Goggin, Wilson and senior Tony Gonzalez were voted first-team all-Conference Indiana.
    Also, Shaw, Wilson, junior Andre Abedian and senior Chase Francoeur were chosen first-team all-district by the Indiana Soccer Coaches Association. Junior Will Bridgeman was a second-team all-district choice, while Goggin was picked a top-team player in the district.
    Shaw and Wilson were chosen ISCA first-team all-state. Abedian was a second-team all-state selection, while Francoeur was a third-team all-state honoree.
    Abedian, Bridgeman, Engel, Francoeur, Goggin, Wilson, senior Robbie Hughes, senior Jacob Phillips, junior Ben Davis and junior Matt Verplank were Academic All-State picks.
    Wilson also was named winner of the IHSAA's C. Eugene Cato Award for Mental Attitude.
    Varsity letters were awarded to seniors Mason Engel, Chase Francoeur, McClain Goggin, Chris Gorbett, Tony Gonzalez, Robbie Hughes, Sergio Jiminez, Jacob Phillips, Brad Shaw, Jake Stewart and Reid Wilson; juniors Andre Abedian, Riley Belding, Will Bridgeman, Ben Davis, Hugh Hamill, Parker Hirsch, Matt Verplank and Keaton Voegerl; and sophomore Jerrett Stark.
    Recognized as JV players were juniors Zach Barnes, Nate Blystone, Sam Meyercord and Chase Spurling; sophomores Byron Barger, Jason Fier, Andrew Gold, Alejandro Gonzalez, Edward Meyer, Oscar Ramirez, Peter Scott, Jahir Sanchez and Brayton Thornburg; and freshmen Alex Cvelbar, Preston Grimes, Tyler Heathcote, Jose Lopez, Alan Rodriguez, Sterling Sardina, Sam Snider and Javier Vazquez.

Tags Columbus North High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article