��� Taylor, Retrum, VanDeventer claim CN swimming MVP awards | Columbus North High School Swimming & Diving | iHigh.com

This Week In Sports


Summer Camps

Bull Dog Bulletin

Athletic Training

Important Forms

A.D.'s Corner

Bull Dog Booster Club




Other Helpful Sites

Home » Swimming & Diving News

Taylor, Retrum, VanDeventer claim CN swimming MVP awards

March 10, 2012
Columbus North High School

     Sophomore Cody Taylor and seniors Myra Retrum and Kristin VanDeventer each collected MVP honors at the Columbus North swimming team banquet on Thursday (March 1).
     Taylor claimed the boys' MVP accolades, while Retrum and VanDeventer shared the girls' top honors.
     Taylor led the CN boys to a sixth-place finish in the state meet as he placed third in the 200-yard individual medley and fourth in the 100 breaststroke. He also swam legs on the 200 medley relay and 400 free relay that finished fourth and fifth at state, respectively.
     In addition, Taylor set a school record of 57.07 in 100 breast and joined with senior Kevin Brinegar, senior Conner Conroy and sophomore Sam Loescher in setting a school best of 1:34.51 in the 200 medley relay.
     Retrum and VanDeventer combined to propel the Bull Frog girls to an eighth-place finish at state. Retrum was state runner-up in the 200 IM and seventh in the 100 breast, while VanDeventer placed third in the 200 freestyle and fifth in the 500 free. Both also contributed to the 400 free relay and 200 free relay, units that placed a respective seventh and eighth in the state meet.
     The 400 free relay of VanDeventer, junior Rachael Sollman, freshman Marah Bieger and Retrum established a school record of 3:30.99.
     Other honorees at the banquet included Loescher and junior Sam Parker among the boys as well as Bieger, Sollman, sophomore Tierney McAlister and junior Jessie Freudenthaler among the girls.
     Loescher, who placed 12th in state in the 50 free and 13th in state in the 100 free, received the boys' Bull Frog Award. Parker, who was 12th in state in the 500 free, was presented the Most Improved and Coaches awards.
     Sollman and McAlister, a diver, were co-recipients of the girls' Bull Frog Award. Bieger, who qualified for state in the 200 IM, was recognized with the Most Improved Award. Freudenthaler, who produced strong results in the 100 butterfly and 100 free, was presented the Coaches Award.
     Thirty-seven athletes were awarded varsity letters. That total included 15 boys and 22 girls:
     Boys -- seniors Aaron Addis, Derek Baker, Kevin Brinegar, Conner Conroy and Dylan Jones; juniors Raleigh Caldwell, CJ Copeland, Sam Larson and Sam Parker; sophomores Sam Loescher, John Rupp, Cody Taylor and Matt Thompson; and freshmen Matthew Freudenthaler and Zachary Zeigler.
     Girls -- seniors Ariana Mitchell, Myra Retrum and Kristin VanDeventer; juniors Tatum Adkins, Mackenzie Coles, Elizabeth Fischvogt, Jessie Freudenthaler, Kaitlyn Hurt, Sydney Jarrard, Erin Jones, Rachael Sollman, Marie Wildemann, Emma Wyke and Avery Zeller; sophomores Mackenzie Bennett and Tierney McAlister; and freshmen Marah Bieger, Kelcie Davie, Mary Jeffares, Nikita Patil, Karen Wildemann and Maddie Wyke.

Tags Columbus North High School • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article