��� 101 Schools Recognized For Sportsmanship | Alabama Radio Sports General | iHigh.com
Alabama Radio Sports
www.alabamaradio.net...Doug Threadgill Advertising & Promotions


Sports Supporters




Home » General News

101 Schools Recognized For Sportsmanship

July 15, 2011
Alabama Radio Sports

101 Schools Recognized For Sportsmanship

5 Schools Go Four Straight Years Without Any Fines Or Ejections

      Five high schools were recognized for the fourth consecutive year Wednesday by the Alabama High School Athletic Association at the Star Sportsmanship Luncheon at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Convention Center.

      The luncheon, annually a highlight of  All-Star Sports Week, recognized AHSAA member high schools that complete the school year with no fines or ejections. A total of 101 schools were fine and ejection free in the 2010-11 school year.

     The five--Alabama School for the Blind, Athens Bible, Covenant Christian, Linden and Westminster of Oak Mountain, have been fine and ejection free all four years the AHSAA has recognized schools for this accomplishment.

     Another 34 were recognized for reaching that goal for the first time in 2010-11. This brings the total to 259 schools since 2007-08 that have been presented banners provided by Learning Through Sports, the company that developed the STAR Sportsmanship program required of all student-athletes and coaches in the AHSAA.

    Another 38 schools have been fine and ejection free a total of three times in the last four years.

    Eight schools, one from each of the AHSAA's districts, were selected by al.com to receive $1,000 grants for their outstanding sportsmanship. They included: McIntosh (District 1), Dale County (District 2), Selma (District 3), Horseshoe Bend (District 4), Carver-Birmingham (District 5), Childersburg (District 6), Hamilton (District 7) and Skyline (District 8).

    Retiring Boaz High School principal Lowell Smith addressed the group at the luncheon. His school has been assessed only one fine and has had no ejections since 2007.

    The complete list of schools recognized at the luncheon hosted by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association are:

Class 1A

Addison, Akron Community School, Alabama School for Blind, Athens Bible,

Belgreen, Covenant Christian, Decatur Heritage, Faith Christian, Gaston, Gaylesville, Holy Family Catholic, Hubbertville, Jacksonville Christian, Jefferson Christian, Keith, Linden, Marion County, McIntosh, Paint Rock Valley, Sacred Heart Catholic, Saint Bernard Prep, J.F. Shields, Skyline, South Lamar, Spring Garden, Sweet Water, Tharptown, Westminster of Oak Mountain, Woodville.

Class 2A

Cold Springs, Cottonwood, Flomaton, Francis Marion, G.W. Long, Highland Home, Horseshoe Bend, Houston County, LaFayette, Lexington, Mars Hill Bible, Mobile Christian, New Brockton, Oakman, Phil Campbell, Providence Christian, Tanner, Westbrook Christian.

Class 3A

Alabama School of Math & Science, Ashville, Bayside Academy, Carbon Hill,

Clements, Colbert Heights, Dale County, Elkmont, Gordo, Hale County, Hamilton, Handley, Holly Pond, Opp, J.B. Pennington, Randolph, Sipsey Valley, Susan Moore, Trinity Presbyterian, West Limestone, Winfield, Winston County.

Class 4A

Alexandria, Anniston, Ardmore, Brooks, Childersburg, Corner, Deshler, East Lawrence, Good Hope, Guntersville, Lincoln, North Jackson, Oneonta, Rogers, Southside-Selma, Springville.

Class 5A

Brookwood, Charles Henderson, Greenville, Pleasant Grove, Saint Paul's Episcopal, Selma.

Class 6A

Alma Bryant, Carver-Birmingham, Grissom, Hoover, Huffman, Oak Mountain, Shades Valley, Stanhope Elmore.

Tags Alabama Radio Sports • Publisher
Rate This Article
Thanks for rating this article!
Share This Article  
» Be the first to leave a comment
Comments (0)